Has it been three months already?! Well, I guess it's time for another core set release. This time, the TCG gets another 100 new cards in the latest set, Clash of Rebellions.

With new monster themes and a lot of support for existing decks, there are always questions about new cards. This week in Black and White: we're going over some frequently asked questions about the new cards.

The Pendulum Monsters
Taking a look at the first few Pendulum Monsters in Clash, I'm seeing a phrase repeated on a few of the Pendulum Effects that makes a big impact. That phrase is "even if this card leaves the field." Cards in the Pendulum Zone are treated like Field, Equip and Continuous Spells; they have to be face-up on the field in order to apply their effects. That's why a chained Mystical Space Typhoon on a card like Call Of The Haunted prevents Call from Special Summoning its target. Because of that, if a Pendulum Effect should persist even after the card's destroyed, the effect has to specifically mention it.

So you'll notice that this text appears on Risebell the Summoner, Xiangke Magician, Xiangsheng Magician, Performapal Camelump and Performapal Drummerilla. That's important because the text applies where you see it and doesn't apply if the text doesn't appear on Pendulum Cards or other cards that have to stay on the field.

The two magicians, when paired together, are the necessary components needed to Xyz Summon Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon, which has an effect that activates if you use an Xyz Monster as an Xyz Material, a feat usually prohibited by the very rules of the game.

Performapal Drummerilla has a weirdly worded monster effect. The second sentence only says "If this card is Normal Summoned without Tributing", meaning that if you can put it into play with something like Mausoleum of the Emperor, its Level still becomes 4 even though you didn't use its own effect to get it onto the field.

Performapal Camelump has an interesting monster effect. It uses a phrase that appears very rarely in the TCG but has ridiculous gameplay consequences: "make your opponent" do something. This is important because when an effect "makes" you do something, it's… treated as something very different than what you're used to.

#####CARDID= 18576#####

There's currently no official resource I can point to when explaining this game mechanic, so the standard disclaimer of "this isn't official" applies. But as I understand it, when a card effect "makes" a player do something, the action isn't considered to be coming from the effect of whatever card told you perform that action. It's just a… thing the game is forcing you to do. The "make a player" mechanic first appeared on Share the Pain, which has a very niche use, but the phrase later appeared on Apoqliphort Towers and as a result, the mechanic became a lot more relevant. In Clash of Rebellions, we see this phrase on two other cards: Ferret Flames and Extinction on Schedule. Take notice of cards that use some form of the phrase "make a player," because that effect will work differently than how cards usually work.

D/D Pandora draws two cards, so it's worth a look. I can see its effect being misinterpreted very easily, so let's break it down.

The activation condition (listed before the colon) is a sentence separated with two commas. A lot of people will want to say "oh, the last part of the condition only applies to the 'destroyed by card effect' line, so I can activate the effect when its destroyed by battle even if I control other cards", but I don't think that's how that works. The appearance of that second comma makes "and you control no cards" separate from the other conditions, so I'm reading this statement as "(A OR B) AND C," not the more-powerful "A OR (B AND C)."

Regardless of that, the effect activates if the card in your possession is destroyed by a card effect. You could splash one of this in any deck, then destroy it from the deck when your opponent hits you with a Crush Card Virus and draw more cards, assuming your field was empty at the time.

Igknights Light Up Your Life
All of the Igknight Pendulum Monsters have the same Pendulum Effect, and they all say to "destroy both cards in your Pendulum Zones." The word "both" in Problem-Solving Card Text has specific meaning; you need to destroy all two of the cards in your Pendulum Zones. If you can't, you destroy none of them. And since the rest of the effect says "and if you do," if you didn't destroy those cards, you stop resolving the effect and don't search for a Warrior-type Fire monster.

Did you notice that Toon Cyber Dragon really doesn't care about Toon World? It's true! Toon World gives Toon Cyber Dragon the "attack-directly" ability, but beyond that, you don't need to control Toon World to Summon it and the cute and adorable beatstick doesn't care if Toon World is destroyed either.

Archfiend Black Skull Dragon's been getting a bunch of questions, so let's go over each effect one at a time. The Armades, Keeper of Boundaries-like effect is treated exactly like Armades; if Archfiend Black Skull Dragon is removed from the field during the Damage Step, its effect stops applying and the opponent gets the chance to activate cards and effects again. Likewise, the "end of Battle Phase" effect activates while Archfiend Black Skull Dragon is face-up on the field. If it's not on the field at that time, the effect doesn't activate. Same goes for Red-Eyes Black Flare Dragon.

Back-Up Rider is fairly straight-forward, but I feel like Blustering Winds got obsoleted.

Should you activate Mistaken Arrest on your own turn, the effect applies to your current turn, your opponent's turn and finally your next turn, in its entirety. Sure, it's a Mistake that doesn't lose to Mystical Space Typhoon, but you're under the effect for two turns if you're forced to use it on your own turn, so be aware of that.

While Chicken Game is going to be looked at by everyone, the effects are quite simple actually. It's a straight-up "Once per turn" effect, which means you can replace one with another from your hand and use the effect again. Had the card said "The turn player can only use the effect of Chicken Game once per turn", you'd be restricted to one use across all copies of the card. (Un)luckily, the effect can happen multiple times in a turn, so have at it.

Personal note: I feel like Balance of Power is really good. Like, "shouldn't be a common" good. Anyways. Back to card interactions and mechanics.

The opponent chooses how many cards they want to draw when Side Effects? resolves.

I mentioned Extinction on Schedule before since it used the phrase "make a player" do a thing, but there's something else odd about this card that's worth mentioning. The effect kicks in at the end of the third Battle Phase. But, that third Battle Phase doesn't necessarily happen three turns later. What does that mean? Extinction on Schedule resolves, you have to count how many times players go into a Battle Phase. The effect then goes off… dare I say… on schedule. If you're using this card, pay close attention to the Battle Phases after the trap card initially resolves.

The World Premiere cards in Clash don't have terribly complicated effects. It's worth mentioning that Kozmotown can search another copy of itself. Because that's fair. The appearance of the Kaijus are prompting people to wonder if they can Tribute their opponent's Apoqliphort Towers. Well, the Kaijus win out there; Towers is only unaffected by activated monster effects. The Kaijus Special Summon doesn't use the chain, meaning it's not an activated effect, which means the Towers can't stop these monstrosities from wreaking havoc.

#####CARDID=18661#####

Secret Blast is cool because it makes use of a rare mechanic. Should your opponent activate something like Mystical Space Typhoon or Galaxy Cyclone on your face-down Secret Blast, you can chain it and get the Secret Barrel-like effect, but Secret Blast will still be destroyed by the opponent's card, so the extra 1000 LP damage effect also activates in a new chain afterwards. There are a limited number of cards that take advantage of this interaction, Quick Booster being another one, and I'm always happy when we see another card like this since it punishes the blind Mystical Space Typhoon into multiple backrows. It keeps players honest and shapes later plays. In terms of strategies, making the opponent think twice about using their MST is generally better than just hoping they hit the wrong card.

Hopefully I've addressed the biggest questions from Clash! If I didn't, leave a Comment down below and I'll field it as best as I can. Or, you can send me your question about Clash of Rebellion, card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He thinks Aromages being named after actual plants is neat, but also groaned audibly when he heard that a Pendulum-based Fire Warrior monster family was called "Igknights". There's only so much pun he can take, apparently.