With the release of another 100-card set comes more questions in need of answers. It's the last set of the ARC-V era before we get hit with all of the Link Summoning questions in a few months. Till then, let's enjoy the familiarity of Fusions, Synchros and Xyz. This week on Black and White: Maximum Crisis!

If you have multiple Pendulum Switches face-up, you can only use one of their effects per turn since it says "you can only use 1 Pendulum Switch effect per turn and only once that turn" it counts across all cards named Pendulum Switch.

When using Performapal Sky Magician's effect to return a continuous Spell Card you control to your hand, you can only activate your Spell Card with "Magician" in its name if you return the targeted Spell Card from your field to your hand.

Returning a level 5 or higher Performapal is a cost to activate Performapal Sky Pupil's effect. You can't target an Extra Deck Performapal like Performapal Gatlinghoul since you can't return it to your hand. The effect negation from the second effect applies as soon as the attack is declared involving Sky Pupil. The third effect activates in the Damage Step after a face-down has been flipped face-up.

Performapal U Go Golem's monster effect looks a lot like Fusion Parasite's but has a key difference. Fusion Parasite is a trigger effect that activates when it's Special Summoned, but U Go Golem's effect is an ignition effect. This means it won't immediately trigger after it's been Pendulum Summoned. You'll have to wait until the next opportunity to activate ignition effects before you can attempt the Fusion Summon effect.

If you control Performapal Coin Dragon and a bunch of other Dragons, and Dark Hole resolves, Coin Dragon's effect will apply through the resolution of Dark Hole, protecting the other Dragons from being destroyed as Coin Dragon itself is destroyed.

Speedroid Skull Marbles has a trigger effect that activated during the Standby Phase, not just yours. Both players should be communicating Phase changes anyway as it's a required practice, but it's vitally important in the Speedroid deck because this is a trigger effect that can activate in the hand during the Standby Phase when it may not be apparent that there's an effect that could activate.


Speedorid Maliciousmagnet's effect Synchro Summons after its own effect resolves, meaning that Summon can be negated by effects like Black Horn of Heaven and Thunder King Rai-Oh.

Predaplant Darlingtonia Cobra can search for any Spell Card containing "Fusion" or "Polymerization" including Ultra Polymerization or Future Fusion. It can't get Diffusion Wave Motion since that card specifically says it's not a "Fusion" card.

D/D Ghost is a kitty in a crystal, and that's adorable.

You can only use the second effect of Double Resonator once per turn. If you Normal or Special Summon multiple Double Resonators in a turn, you can activate each of their effects.

Supreme King Gate Zero and Supreme King Gate Infinity are the first Pendulum Monsters to have Scales of 0 and 13, making a Pendulum Summon of any monster possible.

For all of the True Draco monsters: you can tribute face-down continuous Spells and Traps for their tribute Summons. This is an extrapolation of the definition of tributing as it's described in the rulebook.

Phantasm Spiral Dragon is a Wyrm-Type monster. Deal with it.

Digital Bug LEDybug's bullet-pointed effect can't be used by Digital Bug LEDybug itself; it only gives that effect to the Xyz Monster that LEDybug is used as an Xyz Material for.

If you control B.E.F. Zelos and Special Summon Big Core MK-3' rel="https://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/WP-CH.asp?CN=B.E.S. Big Core MK-3">B.E.S. Big Core MK-3, both of their effects will activate in a chain: Zelos will give Big Core MK-3' rel="https://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/WP-CH.asp?CN=B.E.S. Big Core MK-3">B.E.S. Big Core MK-3 a counter, then Big Core gives itself three more counters for a total of four.

Pendulumucho is the second scale 0 in the game. Also, it's two penguins, and that's great.

Its seems odd, but you can in fact get Ariel, Priestess of the Nekroz with another Ariel effect.

Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring can't activate in the Damage Step since it only negates effects and not activations.


If you skip a Draw Phase with Fire Cracker and another effect like Reckless Greed, you don't skip additional Draw Phases. You're not going to skip three Draw Phases in a row. If the two effects ask you to skip a Draw Phase, they'll both apply to the same skipped Phase.

If the opponent chooses to negate Fairy Tail – Luna's effect by sending a copy of the targeted monster from the deck or Extra Deck to the graveyard, they do so when Luna's effect resolves and not in a chain to the effect.

Performapal Gatlinghoul's optional destruction effect doesn't use the word target, hence, it doesn't target.

Supreme King Z-ARC can't be targeted or destroyed by opponents' card effects. However, tributing Z-ARC for the Special Summon of a Kaiju monster doesn't target it or destroy it.

No ruling notes on Lyrilusc – Assembled Nightingale, just a casual note that a monster that can attack directly multiple times per Battle Phase seems like a challenge for game-breaking shenanigans.

Lyrilusc – Independent Nightingale is unaffected by all other card effects. While it would be nice to increase its level with other card effects, you can only do so via its effect of using an Xyz Monster that had a whole bunch of Xyz Materials on it when you performed your Fusion Summon.

If you have multiple copies of Magician's Right Hand, they all only try to negate the first Spell Card that the opponent activates. They don't negate the first two Spell Cards. The same goes for Magician's Left Hand and Trap Cards.

Ultra Polymerization can only use exactly two monsters on the field. You can't use this effect for a Fusion that requires more than one monster like Lunalight Leo Dancer. Although you could use Ultra Polyermization to Fusion Summon Lunalight Panther Dancer with a Lunalight Cat Dancer and another Lunalight, then use Ultra Polymerization's graveyard effect to Special Summon the Cat Dancer and the other Fusion Material, giving you the three required monsters for a possible Leo Dancer.

Dragonic Diagram's effect can be activated once per turn for each copy of Dragonic Diagram you play; if you have 2 copies of Dragonic Diagram in your hand, you can activate one copy, use the effect, then activate the other copy of Dragonic Diagram and use its effect in the same turn.


For each of the True Draco Continuous Spells and Traps: you activate their effect to Tribute Summon, and when the effect resolves, you can tribute the card itself to Tribute Summon your True Draco without an issue.

B.E.F. Zelos refers to any B.E.S. monster. Thanks to a recent reprint, this also includes the card that used to be named "Big Core" and is now Big Core' rel="https://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/WP-CH.asp?CN=B.E.S. Big Core">B.E.S. Big Core.

Duelist Alliance adds a Pendulum Monster with the word "Pendulum" in its name - like Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon - or a Spell/Trap with the word "Pendulum" in its name – like Pendulum Call – from deck to hand. This is where it's necessary to carefully read and parse card text.

If your opponent activates a Field Spell and you chain Set Rotation, your opponent's Field Spell is sent to the graveyard when your card is set to their Field Zone, and the oppoent's Field Spell effect resolves without effect.

While Break Away says it activates during the opponent's Battle Phase, it can't be activated during the Damage Step since it doesn't meet the requirements to activate during the Damage Step.

This isn't specifically rulings related, but just a note that the two Phantom Knight Trap Cards in Maximum Crisis Special Summon themselves as Level 2 monsters instead of Level 3 monsters.

Dark Contract with the Eternal Darkness prevents your opponent from performing all of those actions on any monster on the field: theirs or yours.

If you use Zoodiac Gathering's effect to attach one Zoodiac Xyz Monster to another as an Xyz Material, the monster becoming an Xyz Material doesn't keep its own Xyz Materials; those materials get sent to the graveyard.

Phantasm Spiral Assault is certainly unique because it's an alternate win condition. You have to activate it on one of your Phantasm Spiral Dragons then that monster has to destroy three Effect Monsters by battle while it has the three Phantasm Spiral Equip Cards equipped to it. If you destroy the monsters first then activate Phantasm Spiral Assault, those first three monsters don't count towards the win condition. You'll need to destroy three more Effect Monsters.

You choose which effect of Waterfall of Dragon Souls when you activate the card and place the effect on the chain.

If you're wondering if Artifact Vajra will trigger the effects of your other destroyed Artifacts if it's Special Summoned during the opponent's turn, the answer is yes - absolutely.

Both Ghost Beef and Mild Turkey have effects that require you roll a six-sided die. The die is rolled when the effect resolves, not at activation.

If you have questions about the cards from Maximum Crisis, card interactions, game mechanics, or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future edition of Court of Appeals!

-Joe Frankino

Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. You can read his non-card game things at http://crazdgamer.com and watch his video game streaming things at http://twitch.tv/crazdgamer.