All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Luis writes…

Hi Judge Joe, I'm a big fan of Court of Appeals; never miss one. I have a question that I can't get out of my mind, so here it is...

Let's say that I have a Dark Valkyria face-up. I Normal Summon it again so my monster gets its effect; I attempt to activate its effect and my opponent activates a Fiendish Chain thus negating its effect. Is Dark Valkyria treated as a Normal Monster again, and if so, is it unaffected by Fiendish Chain? Or does Fiendish Chain still apply?

Thanks for the help! Hope to see this on the next CoA :D

Hello Luis!

Once you Normal Summon a Gemini Monster while it's on the field, it stops being a Normal Monster and becomes an Effect Monster. When its effect becomes negated, it still remains an Effect Monster, the only difference is that it has a negated effect. This is no different than any other Effect Monster with a negated effect.

#####CARDID= 12885#####

Mauricio Apaza Puertas writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

Love your articles! I have a question about a somewhat common situation, but I'm not sure about it.

Let's say I Summoned Fire King Avatar Barong and set Generation Shift and ended my turn. Then it's my opponent's turn: he Normal Summons something like Bujin Yamato, decides not to attack and goes straight to his End Phase, activating Yamato's effect and I chain Generation Shift, targeting Fire King Avatar Barong as chain link 2. Generation Shift destroys Barong and another copy of Barong is added to my hand, then Yamato's effect resolves as chain link 1.

My question is, after Yamato resolved, can I activate Fire King Avatar Barong's effect from the hand (the Barong I just added with Generation Shift, and not having other copies of it) to Special Summon itself after the chain finished resolving? Some people told me I can't do that if I didn't have another Fire King Avatar on my hand before destroying Barong with Generation Shift, but I'm not sure.

Thanks for your time, - Mauricio

Hello Mauricio!

The game will only check to see if you can activate an effect after the chain resolves, not during the chain. As long as you have a Barong in-hand after Yamato resolves (which you do), you can activate Barong's Special Summon effect. Other examples of this interaction is drawing Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord with Bountiful Artemis's effect, then activating Van'Dalgyon's ability.

Sam Penningh writes…

Hi Joe

My name is Sam Penningh and I enjoy reading your articles on Court of Appeals and here's my question. I haven't been to my local tournament scene for over a month and last week I decided to see what has happened while I was away: I noticed that one or more player(s) have switched from the deck they used in Round 1 to a completely different deck in the next round. I'm aware that it's illegal to do that in a larger tournament scene like regionals, WCQ's and so on.

I'd like to know what kind of punishment(s) should the player be given for switching their decks.

Hello Sam!

At a Regional Qualifier or a YCS, where deck lists are submitted beforehand, the Head Judge expects the players at that level of play to know they can't switch decks or cards once the list is submitted, so when players are caught, it's usually straight forward. The penalty is a Disqualification Without Prize.

Tier 1 events (those are the weekly tournaments held at your local Official Tournament Store) are usually not high-stakes. Actual, malicious cheating usually doesn't occur at this level. If a deck switch does occur, it's usually done by a new player that wasn't told they couldn't do it and saw nothing wrong with it. It's probably a younger player, too.

That said, at all levels, the infraction should be Unsporting Conduct – Cheating, and the penalty should be Disqualification Without Prize. Now, whether or not the Head Judge will assign that penalty isn't a guarantee. The Head Judge will take into account all aspects and facts and may choose to downgrade the penalty if they feel it's necessary to do so. But if played to the letter of law (or in this case, the policy documents), the penalty should be Disqualification Without Prize.

Don't get me wrong: it is absolutely difficult to tell a player they're being disqualified, especially if they're being penalized for something they didn't know was wrong. But it's part of the gig. All three policy documents ensure a fair play environment, and this particular infraction carries this severe penalty for a reason. It's meant to deter the behavior from occurring again. If the Head Judge chooses to downgrade, there has to be a good reason for it, and ignorance of policy is not a valid reason.

Anthony Woods wrotes…

I got a question about Evilswarm Exciton Knight. If I use his effect to nuke the field, do flip effects get activated? Thanks in advance and I enjoy reading your articles.

Hello Anthony!

Cards that are destroyed by card effects while they're face-down do not flip face-up while they're on the field. Their flip effects (and flip face-up effects like Geargiarmor) will not activate.

#####CARDID= 14240#####

Jacques Watson writes…

Hello there, a very confusing ruling which I cannot find anything to provide if it's correct is that Night Beam specifies 'Your opponent cannot activate the targeted card in response to this card's activation.' Some friends say that you are able to chain something else then chain the targeted card, yet the situation hasn't come up at an official event for me so I do not know the official ruling behind this.

If you're getting a bit confused, this is an example:
Player 1 has 2 set cards: Mystical Space Typhoon and Compulsory Evacuation Device.
Player 2 summons Warrior Dai Grepher, then activates Night Beam on the Compulsory Evacuation Device.
Player 1 chains Mystical Space Typhoon onto the Night Beam then chains the Compulsory Evacuation Device on the Warrior Dai Grepher.

Hello Jacques.

Night Beam works exactly as the card says it does. The targeted card can't be used in response to Night Beam's activation. If the targeted card couldn't be used in the chain, the card would say something along those lines like "the targeted card can't be activated in this chain". There's no official rulings, just the card text. You're able to chain something else, then chain Night Beam's target.

Joshua Harper writes…

Hi,

Thank you for answering my previous question I asked, since then I have had a really odd question asked. The situation was Player A had a Shooting Star Dragon on the field while his opponent Player B had both Number 13: Embodiment of Crime and Number 31: Embodiment of Punishment. It is player A's turn and Player B has activated the effect of one of his numbers to force the Shooting Star Dragon to attack. The bit that raised dispute was this: can Shooting Star activate its effect to look at the top five cards for Tuners to determine its number of attacks, Player A said he could because there were still Tuners remaining in his deck, but Player B said he couldn't because he was forced to attack and this might make him unable to attack if he found no tuners. I really have no idea and I couldn't find any information or ruling to help.

Thanks, ~ Joshua Harper

Hello Joshua!

The effect of "must attack if able" is only that. If your monster can attack, it must do so. If that monster can't attack by another card effect or if it's in defense position, it can't attack. Shooting Star Dragon's effect can still be activated, and if no Tuners are revealed, Shooting Star Dragon can't make any attacks this turn, which means "must attack if able" won't apply because Shooting Star Dragon can't attack.

Last question!

Brendan Lacorte writes…

Hey Judge Joe,

I hope you can answer a question that has been bothering me for a while. I know that while resolving cards like Nobleman of Crossout, if the opponent doesn't banish the legal maximum number of a card (ex: only banishing 2 Gravekeeper's Spy), the player who activated the card can quickly check the opponent's deck to ensure they don't have any more copies of that card in their deck.

I also know that you need a Genex Controller in your deck in order to activate Genex Undine, even if Skill Drain is active, but you don't need to reveal the Genex Controller and you aren't obligated to show it to your opponent if they ask. My question is what is the difference between these two categories of effects? Why do I have to reveal my deck for Nobleman but not if I activate Undine under Skill Drain?

Hello Brendan!

This is a good question. Firstly, the most recent text of Nobleman of Crossout specifies that both players have to reveal their Main Decks to each other if the target was a flip effect monster. But for the Genex Undine and Skill Drain question, it really comes down to game mechanics: Skill Drain doesn't prevent the activation of monster effects, so Genex Undine can be activated, but if Skill Drain is active, the effect obviously won't resolve and you won't add Genex Controller to your hand.

Hand verification is covered in Yu-Gi-Oh! Tournament Policy, but deck verification isn't. Generally, the deck is only verified to confirm that an effect that couldn't resolve actually couldn't resolve, for instance, if Reinforcement of the Army was activated when there were no Warriors left in deck, or if Charge of the Light Brigade sent the last Level 4 or lower Lightsworn monster to the graveyard. But when the card is activated, you have to trust the other player that the activation is legal. It's the player's own responsibility to know whether their effect can be activated or not.

A common reply to this is "well, why can't they just reveal the Controller?" Yes, Genex Undine can only get a Genex Controller from the deck, but let's switch examples. What if this was an Artifact Ignition instead? Would the player be forced to reveal an Artifact monster in the Main Deck before targeting? That wouldn't be fair to the Artifact player, right?

Verifications will only occur if the effect failed to resolve when it should have. I understand it's not the best answer, but it is what it is.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have any questions about card ineractions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned. ­

-Joe Frankino