All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-I will credit you with how you sign off on your e-mail. If you don't include a name in your signature, I will use your name as it appears in the e-mail's name field with your last initial.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Patrick G. writes…

Hey Judge Joe,

My question is about an interaction between Beatrice, Lady of the Eternal and Deskbot 004. So I attacked using Deskbot 004 and my opponent activated Beatrice, Lady of the Eternal effect to send Alich, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss to the graveyard. I thought that once Beatrice's effect resolved, my attack would then resolve immediately afterwards. My opponent claimed that the Alich would activate and resolve negating my Deskbot 004's effect before the attack continued. How would this interaction work? Thanks and I appreciate the help!

Hello Patrick!

When you're dealing with resolving chains, the best resource is the Fast Effect Timing page. Let's follow the chart starting with Beatrice, Lady of the Eternal's resolution.

A chain resolves in the red box in the middle of the page. Beatrice's effect activated and resolved in the Battle Step. Keep in mind that the game doesn't go into the next Phase or Step until both players pass on activating effects and both players agree to go into the next Step or Phase. That happens in the right side of the chart after Box E.

After the chain resolves and Alich is sent to the graveyard, you leave the red box and follow the arrow to the yellow box, which checks for triggered effects. Alich's effect is a trigger effect, so it activates, sending us back into the red box for a chain. Because you never got to the point in the chart where we can change Steps, we're still in the Battle Step, which means you haven't hit damage calculation which is where Deskbot 004's effect activates.

#####CARDID=19601#####

Ethan M. writes…

Hi Joe!

Does Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon's Summoning restriction mean that I can only Special Summon specific copies of "properly" summoned Alternatives from grave, or after resolving the Summon from hand can I Special Summon any copy from the grave? I read your "Black and White: Movie Pack" article and I'm just trying to follow up on a tiny and ridiculous technicality, like so many others that this game is infamous for.

Thank You! ~ Ethan M.

Hello Ethan!

You can only Special Summon a Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon if it was successfully Special Summoned by the method described on the card, and it only applies to that specific card. So if you have two Alternatives in your graveyard, one that was destroyed by Kozmo Dark Destroyer and another whose Summon was negated by Solemn Strike, you can't Summon the one whose Summon was negated. You can only Summon the one who was destroyed by Kozmo Dark Destroyer.

Chris writes…

Hi Judge Joe! How're you doing?! My name's Chris and you've answered several of my questions in the past. As always, thanks for your time! But today, I have a question between the interaction of two cards. They are Magician Navigation and Necrovalley.

My question is can I activate and banish Magician Navigation from my graveyard in response to the initial activation of Necrovalley to negate it for that turn? Thanks again Judge Joe!

Hello Chris!

This is a legal play! Necrovalley – and any Field, Continuous, Equip or Pendulum Spell – won't have its effects apply until the card itself resolves. This means you're free to banish from the graveyard in a chain to Necrovalley.

Gustavo D. writes…

Hi!

If my opponent activates Magician Navigation and I chain Maxx "C", will I draw 2 cards? I guess so, because it Special Summons from the hand, then Special Summons from the Deck. I don't think this is a single instance of Special Summon that would make me draw a single card off Maxx "C" like Soul Charge or a Pendulum Summon would.

Thanks!

Hello Gustavo!

You are correct. Magician Navigation Special Summons one monster, then another one. It's considered two separate times thanks to the word "then", so Maxx "C" would give you a draw for each.

#####CARDID=20211#####

Mathew writes…

Hello Joe!

First time writing in and hoping you can help me. I currently run a Gadget Pendulum deck and was unsure what happens if I Pendulum Summon a primary Gadget alongside a Silver Gadget or Gold Gadget. For example, I have two cards in my hand: Gold Gadget and Red Gadget. I Pendulum Summon both and activate Red Gadget's effect to search for Yellow Gadget. Can I then chain Gold Gadget's Special Summon effect to Summon that yellow from my hand? Also, how does the game determine which effect is activated first between the two Pendulum Summoned monsters?

Thanks for your help! ~ Mathew

Hello Mathew!

First, I like the deck idea!

To answer your questions: when you Pendulum Summon Red Gadget and Gold Gadget, there is no possible card in your hand that could be Special Summoned with Gold's effect at that time, so you can't activate Gold's effect at all. Even though you as a human player know there's going to be a Gadget in hand when the effect resolves, the game won't allow you activate an optional effect that can't resolve properly at the moment of activation.

In regards to the order of effects on the chain, mandatory triggers must be placed on the chain first, followed by optional triggers. For more information, check out page 46 of rulebook 9.1.

Xavier writes…

Hi Joe…

My question is regarding the new Metalfoes monsters. I was wondering if you are able to resolve the destruction effect of a Metalfoes card in a Pendulum Zone if you don't have a spell/trap in your deck to set. Would the game state return to the point before you destroyed a card or would it play it out with the destruction of the card, and no card to set?

Thanks in advance. ~ Xavier

Hello Xavier!

If you don't have a Metalfoes spell or trap in your deck, you can't activate the effect at all. When resolving the effect, if it's discovered there wasn't card you could set in the deck, the game state would be rewound to just before the effect's activation and you would receive a Warning for the Procedural Error – Minor infraction that was committed (illegal activation).

On the odd chance that there is a Metalfoes spell or trap in your deck when you activate the effect, but there isn't one in the deck when the effect resolves, you would resolve as much of the effect as possible as per Problem-Solving Card Text rules – you would destroy the target but not set a card from the deck.

Aaron writes…

Hello Joe,

I have been following your rulings articles for some time but have never sent in a ruling question. The game mechanic of Tribute Summon and Tribute Set has baffled players and judges alike in my experience. I have tried to use The Monarchs Stormforth to tribute my opponents monster to Tribute Summon (Set) my Pot of the Forbidden.

I reason that March of the Monarchs and Qliphort Monolith count "tribute sets" in their effects even though the text only refers to Tribute Summon. Many players repeatedly tell me that I cannot Tribute Set because The Monarchs Stormforth specifically mentions Tribute Summon. I argue that if a card mentions Tribute Summon it applies to "Tribute Set" unless additional text clarifies as is the case with Performapal Hip Hippo. ~ Aaron

Hello Aaron!

While there's no direct question in your e-mail, I'm assuming you want to know if you can Tribute Set using The Monarchs Stormforth. If that's the question, take a look at page 21 of rulebook 9.1 which says under the "Tribute Summon" section: "Note: When a card explains a special method to Tribute Summon a monster, you can also Tribute Set the monster by the same method."

#####CARDID=19665#####

Last question!

Muffin Lord Loukas writes…

Hello Joseph,

I have a question about Lose One Turn, but first some backstory. You know how everyone just knows that certain cards do X without them saying on the card? Like Level 6 monsters need one Tribute to Normal Summon, game mechanics, EZPZ, and then they have their own effects. It takes one tribute to Normal Summon Jinzo, but its effect means traps are moot.

So Lose One Turn - its effect shuts down my opponent's monsters, but given the name, shouldn't my opponent have to lose one turn, and then it's my turn again? I was overruled by our judge at our local, but in my defense, Summoned Skull doesn't say it takes one Tribute! Shouldn't my opponent just skip their turn when I play my trap?

-Sincerely, Muffin Lord Loukas

Hello Muffin Lord Loukas!

Breaker the Magical Warrior is a Spellcaster.

Red-Eyes Black Metal Dragon is a Machine.

Sword Arm of Dragon is a Dinosaur.

Ancient Sacred Wyvern is a Fairy.

And Lose 1 Turn doesn't make your opponent Lose 1 Turn.

I'm sorry (not sorry) to destroy your hopes and dreams.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He typically writes Court of Appeals from a very popular chain of coffee places. He appreciates it when the experience has a non-positive amount of wasps involved in the writing process, but he'll still entertain questions about Inzektor Hornet.