All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Gustavo Duarte writes…

Hi judge, it's me again! I have another simple question, but that gives me itches, this time regarding a Battle Phase statement present in some cards.

There are some double-attacking monsters like Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon that say "[...] and if you do, this card can make 3 attacks during each Battle Phase this turn." I mean, why is there the word "each"? A turn can only have one Battle Phase, right? So why do some cards say "each Battle Phase this turn"? I interpret that phrase as an assumption that a turn has more than one single Battle Phase... Sorry if this is a dumb question.

Hello Gustavo!

The rulebook says the Battle Phase only occurs once per turn, but there's a very small number of cards that can allow for more than one Battle Phase per turn. Off the top of my head, I only know of An Unfortunate Report. There are probably a few more but they're very obscure.

In the rare case that a player has more than one Battle Phase, cards like Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon or Mermail Abyssmegalo would be able to make multiple attacks during each Battle Phase, allowing for four or six attacks in total.

#####CARDID= 18626#####

Geno writes…

I have a question regarding Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight and Nefarious Archfiend Eater of Nefariousness. I have a face-up Cairngorgon with Xyz Materials along with Nefarious Archfiend Eater in my graveyard. I activate Nefarious Archfiend Eater's effect targeting Cairngorgon... can I activate Cairngorgon's effect and target a monster on my opponent's side of the field instead? This may be a no brainer, but hey...no such thing as a dumb question, right?

Thanks! ~ Geno

Hello Geno!

As you probably guessed, this doesn't work. Cairngorgon, Antiluminescent Knight requires that the new target be a valid target for the original effect. Nefarious Archfiend Eater of Nefariousness can only target monsters you control, so you may only re-target to one of your monsters.

Patrick Ree-In writes…

Hi Judge Joe!

I got a question about Yosenjus. I Summoned a Yosenju and my opponent played Book of Moon on it. I'm pretty sure that I could still Summon other Yosenjus from my hand, but my local Judge said it's NOT possible because the card has to be face-up to maintain its effect.

I explained that it's the same as Satellarknight Altair or Goblindbergh. So can you teach me what's wrong and what's right?

PLEASE! HELP ME JUDGE JOE!

Hello Patrick!

Yosenju Kama 1, Yosenju Kama 2 and Yosenju Kama 3 each have activated effects that allow you to Normal Summon another Yosenju monster when the effect resolves. If those effects required the monster to stay face-up, it would say so, similar to Zombie Master's effect. Your judge may be confusing the Yosenjus with continuous effects that grant an additional Normal Summon like Gem-Knight Seraphinite.

Hey Judge Joe,

Thanks for your answers to my previous questions! I'm interested in the card Bubble Crash and its relevance to today's Pendulum world. I'm wondering, since Bubble Crash says "send to the graveyard," does that mean the opponent tries to send Pendulum Monsters to the graveyard and they go to the Extra Deck, or are they not able to send Pendulums at all which then would mean they have to send backrows or cards from their hand? Can you clarify how Bubble Crash would affect Pendulum cards.

Thanks ~ David Coleman-Mann

Hello David!

It's over ten years old, but knowing what we know about the game, you'd resolve as much of Bubble Crash's effect as possible. Pendulum cards, if chosen, will go to the Extra Deck as normal. Cards don't have to hit the graveyard.

Lane writes…

Hey Joe, I think it's awesome that you have the Black and White column on TCGplayer. It's very informative. (Joe: Thank you!) My question is on one of the Kozmo monsters. Can you activate Kozmo Goodwitch's second effect to pay 500 LP to change an opponent's monster to defense during either player's turn, or only during the controller's turn?

Thanks ~ Lane

Hello Lane!

Monster effects come in a few different forms. Quick Effects are easily identified by the phrase "during either player's turn" or with the flat-out statement "this is a Quick Effect." Trigger Effects are identified by an activation condition like "During [x] phase" or "When a monster is Normal Summoned," basically saying that you have to wait for a specific thing to happen before you can use the ability. Flip effects are a type of trigger effect that can be easily identified by the word "FLIP" in the monster's type line.

Everything else is an Ignition Effect. You can sometimes see the phrase "Once per turn:" or something like that as a hint, but not always. By game rules, Ignition Effects can only be activated during their controller's Main Phase. You can't use Kozmo Goodwitch's turn-to-defense effect during your opponent's turn.

#####CARDID= 18658#####

Eli Childs writes…

Hey Joe, I'm Eli. Beginning Knight says that any monster Ritual Summoned using it will gain its effects. But if you Normal Summon Beginning Knight can you activate its effect while it's face-up? For example, can I Normal Summon Beginning Knight, then activate the effect to banish a monster, set three and end turn? Please let me know, it's bugging me. Thanks.

Hello Eli!

Beginning Knight and its counterpart Evening Twlight Knight both work the same way; their own monster effect is to give a Ritual Monster additional effects. They can't use those effects themselves. Beginning Knight, Summoned as an effect monster, can't banish anything from the field. Only the Black Luster Soldier or the Black Luster Soldier – Super Soldier you Summon can use the effects printed on Beginning Knight and Evening Twilight Knight.

José Arellano writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

I have a question about PSY-Frames. If PSY-Frame Circuit isn't on the field and Lose 1 Turn is active, are the PSY-Frame monsters banished in the End Phase? Or do they stay on the field because their abilities are negated by Lose 1 Turn?

Regards ~ José Arellano

Hello José!

Both monsters were Special Summoned by the resolved effect of a PSY-Framegear monster. The banishing of the monsters isn't a separate activated effect; the monsters will be banished in the End Phase as long as the PSY-Framegear's effect resolved successfully, which it did.

Chris Aday writes…

Hello Judge Joe!

If Player A activates the graveyard effect of Galaxy Cyclone or Breakthrough Skill, can Player B respond with a card like Dark Bribe to negate and destroy the Cyclone or Breakthrough?

Hello Chris!

Dark Bribe negates the activation of a spell or trap card. In order to activate a spell or trap, you place it face-up – or flip it face-up – onto the field in the appropriate zone. That's the action that Dark Bribe can negate. If a spell or trap has an effect that activates in any other place, it's not considered "activating" the card, but only activating one of its effects. Dark Bribe can't negate the in-grave effects of Breakthrough Skill or Galaxy Cyclone for that reason.

Jake writes…

Hi Judge Joe! I hope to one day be as knowledgeable about the game as you are.

I was wondering: Maiden with Eyes of Blue states, "when a card or effect is activated that targets this face-up card." As it does not specify "on the field," does that mean it can get its effect from being targeted whilst in the grave or when it's banished by a card like Kinka-byo?

Thanks in advance ~ Jake (from London, UK)

Hello Jake!

Being face-up implies that the card is on the field, so it won't work with Kinka-Byo, Call of the Haunted or anything like that, sadly.

#####CARDID= 18225#####

Last question! Dominic writes…

Hey Judge Joe, how's it going? I hope you and all of the writers at TCGplayer had a great holiday. I have a question regarding Tellarknight Ptolemaeus. This came up while my friend was playing my Protector Stun and I was playing Brilliant Batteryman (Joe: I can guess at what those decks are about and I'm super-ok with both ideas). He does his thing and ends controlling a Tellarknight Ptolemaeus with three Xyz Materials.

During my Draw Phase I draw into Book of Moon and my opponent activates Tellarknight Ptolemaeus' ability, intending to Xyz Summon Artifact Durendal. I chained Book of Moon to Ptolemaeus's effect, and this is where it got iffy. Since the chain resolves backwards, Ptolemaeus would be face down and as far as I'm aware you can't Xyz Summon onto a face-down card. We both agreed it's what should happen but we aren't sure. If you could clarify we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you in advance.

Respectfully ~ Dominic

Hello Dominic!

Luckily, Tellarknight Ptolemaeus has the answer in its text: "by using this face-up card you control as the Xyz Material." If Tellarknight Ptolemaeus isn't face-up on the field, you can't use it as the Xyz Material and you won't Summon anything.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He's going to make the trip to Philadelphia for a Regional Qualifier this weekend. If you happen to see him and he's not complaining about a bad beat (or in the process of getting bad beat), come and say hi!