All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Donovan Barbour writes…

Hey Joe, I've got an odd one for you.

Back in the day, you could use the trap card Success Probability 0% to send cool stuff to the graveyard and steal it with Monster Reborn, because you only had stuff you were planning to Fusion Summon in your fusion deck. (Joe: That doesn't work the way you think it does… I'll explain later.) But what if you used it nowadays?

We have Synchros and Xyz monsters in our Extra Deck now, and I checked to current wording on Konami's card database and found that the only wording change is from "Fusion Deck" to "Extra Deck". It still only sends Fusions to the grave.

So what happens when you activate it now? Do you reveal the whole Extra Deck to show the number of fusions present, then randomly choose from them? How does this work?

Thanks, and keep up the good work!

Hi Donovan!

Firstly, monsters that have to be Summoned with a specific method can't be Special Summoned from the graveyard or from the banished area if they weren't properly Special Summoned first. That means Fusion Monsters have to be Fusion Summoned, Ritual Monsters have to be Ritual Summoned, Synchro Monsters have to be Synchro Summoned, and Xyz Monsters have to be Xyz Summoned. Using Success Probability 0% will load up your graveyard but the monsters sent there can't be Special Summoned.

Now then, to your actual question: should I encounter Success Probability 0%, I'd do exactly what you suggested. Because the Extra Deck can now contain monsters that aren't Fusion Monsters, you'd have to reveal the Extra Deck in its entirety, then randomly choose one of the Fusion Monsters.

#####CARDID= 9302 #####

Jeremiah Bernardino writes…

Hi Judge Joe!

My name is Jeremiah and thank you for taking your time to clarify things for less seasoned players such as myself. So the scenario is:

I activate Necrovalley while my opponent controls Harpies' Hunting Ground. Then he chains Hysteric Party to Necrovalley's activation with no other cards on the chain. The chain resolves, and my opponent proceeds to Special Summon a Harpie from his graveyard, then declares to destroy Necrovalley to keep Harpies' Hunting Ground on the field.

I was thinking that this was wrong because Harpies' Hunting Ground would have to resolve on a separate chain, but would not because Necrovalley would resolve destroying Harpies' Hunting Ground in the process. I appreciate your work and look forward to your response!

Hello Jeremiah!

Your Reasoning is correct. The entire chain has to resolve before other effects that would trigger can activate. In your chain, Harpies' Hunting Ground would be destroyed before its effect would activate. After the chain resolves, its effect won't activate because Harpies' Hunting Ground is no longer on the field.

Peter Ślusarski writes…

Hello Judge Joe!

I'm playing a Cyber Dragon deck and I often have a problem against Fiendish Chain. People claim that the effect of Cyber Dragon Core or Cyber Dragon Drei that says, "This card's name becomes 'Cyber Dragon' while it is on the field or in the Graveyard" is Continuous and can be negated by Fiendish Chain.

Every time I call a judge they couldn't decide if that's the case. As far as I know this is not an effect, but more a condition like Cyber Harpie Lady, Debris Dragon and Quickdraw Synchron. Can you please clarify this for me?

Regards ~ Peter

Hello Peter!

In an ideal world, I'd simply point to a definition of effects and a definition for "conditions" and leave it at that, but unfortunately even "condition" isn't an official game term. You'll see the word used in old rulings, but its definition isn't listed in any official resource.

The Harpie Lady cards that have their names always treated as "Harpie Lady" (that's Harpie Lady 1, Harpie Lady 2, Harpie Lady 3 and Cyber Harpie Lady) are all considered "effect monsters," but the bit of text that makes them "Harpie Lady" isn't considered an "effect," so it can't be negated by something like Skill Drain. But Harpie Queen isn't considered "Harpie Lady" all the time, just when it's on the field and in the graveyard. That is considered an effect and can be negated.

Likewise, Cyber Dragon Core and Cyber Dragon Drei are only considered Cyber Dragon where they say so. Those are effects and can be negated by Fiendish Chain.

David Huss writes…

Hey my name is David and I hail from Wisconsin. Here's my situation: I was told that even if you activate Abyss Dweller's effect or Soul Drain during the next Draw Phase after a Fire King monster is destroyed by card effect, they still get their effect because that Dweller or Soul Drain wasn't face-up when the Fire King effect was activated. But others have given me conflicting rulings, so I'm very confused. Who's right and can you please explain why?

Thanks!

Hello David!

Taking a look at the Problem-Solving Card Text of the Fire Kings should be enough. As an example, we'll use Fire King High Avatar Garunix. "During the next Standby Phase after this card was destroyed by a card effect and sent to the Graveyard:" Everything before the colon tells you the necessary information about when and where that effect activates. You'll notice the effect only activates in the Standby Phase. If Garunix's effect activated when it was destroyed, the card would say so by reading something like "When this card is destroyed: do stuff".

Since it doesn't say that, the effect doesn't activate when Garunix is destroyed. It only activates in the following Standby Phase. A Soul Drain or Abyss Dweller in the Draw Phase is certainly enough to prevent a Fire King effect from activating in the Standby Phase.

Tyson writes…

Hey Joe, love your articles. I recently had a dispute with my opponent and called a judge for a ruling. I didn't agree with said ruling, so I appealed. The Head Judge came over, assessed the situation and eventually ruled in my favor. Once that happened my opponent asked if arguing it was goingto do any good now that the Head Judge had ruled? Well, the Head Judge asked for his opinion and he explained his side again, at which point the Head Judge left to consult and came back and changed the ruling to benefit my opponent. Shouldn't his final ruling be his final ruling?

My opponent had activated Maldolche Hootcake's effect to banish Desertapir' rel="https://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/WP-CH.asp?CN=Dark Desertapir">Dark Desertapir to Summon Madolche Cruffssant and activated Desertapir' rel="https://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/WP-CH.asp?CN=Dark Desertapir">Dark Desertapir's effect to Special Summon a Beast from his graveyard. I thought Desertapir' rel="https://yugioh.tcgplayer.com/db/WP-CH.asp?CN=Dark Desertapir">Dark Desertapir's effect would miss timing since the last thing to happened was the Summon of a monster. But I researched it and my opponent was correct: banishing and Summoning are simultaneous in this case, a fact that was unknown to me at the time.

Hello Tyson!

Firstly, I've been in a similar situation where you think the judge did you wrong. It's never pleasant. But allow me to put things at ease.

In tournaments I Head Judge, I always make sure to mention in my Round 1 announcement's that rulings the Head Judge makes are final. What that means is that the Head Judge can't be appealed. However, that doesn't mean that once the Head Judge says something, it's set in stone. As a Head Judge, I can certainly reverse a call if new information is brought to light, which is what I'm guessing happened during your recent Regional experience. Judges aren't infallible and sometimes we miss things. Luckily, that judge did take a second look at the situation you described because the correction was indeed the proper ruling.

For the rest of you reading, the key to the interaction here is that Madolche Hootcake's effect uses the conjunction "and if you do," which means that both parts of the effect take place at the same time, and since nothing happens after the banishing and the Special Summon from Hootcake, triggers to either of these events may activate after Hootcake resolves.

#####CARDID= 11905 #####

Last question!

Dale Caudle writes…

So my opponent goes first and sets a few backrow cards. I then proceed to Summon Traptrix Atrax and set a couple backrows myself. I attack for damage and in my End Phase he activates Royal Decree. Atrax's second effect states that my Normal Traps can't be negated, so would that include Royal Decree's effect as well? Or does the negation still apply?

Hello Dale!

Royal Decree would try to negate your Trap Cards, and Atrax says your Normal Trap Cards' activation and effect can't be negated. Sounds like you're in good shape! I mean, your Counter Traps and Continuous Traps would be hosed by Royal Decree, but those Normal ones? They're good to go.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, zip me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned.

-Joe Frankino