All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Rafeed Kahn writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

My question is about U.A. Powered Jersey. Back at YCS Anaheim, I was dueling with my friends. I didn't enter the tournament but I thought it was a cool experience. (Joe: I'm glad to hear it!) At the tournament, I asked multiple judges and whom I believe was the head judge there, if the damage effect stacks if I have two U.A. Powered Jersey's equipped to a U.A. monster? They told me yes, but after the tournament when I asked around on online forums I was told no they do not. Do two U.A. Powered Jersey's stack? Why or why not?

As always, thank you for your time and have a nice day. ~ Sincerely, Rafeed Kahn

Hello Rafeed!

We're starting off with a weird question. Not that the question itself is weird, but the fact that this is a question at all is just… one of those things about this game.

So, there are two ways we can answer this. One is by reading the card and applying logic. The other way is extrapolating from previously official rulings on older-than-dirt cards that have similar effects.

If you read cards and apply logic, you'd double the damage twice and end up with four times the damage. This is fairly straight forward and really-flippin'-good, because each U.A. Powered Jersey buffs the monster's ATK by 1000 each; the amount of damage this combo can pull off can get up there pretty easily.

If you apply the "but these nine-year-old cards have this obscure ruling that says…" logic, you'll find that there's a previously official ruling for the trap card Cross Counter which says that if Cross Counter's effect is being applied at the same time as Stone Statue of the Aztec's effect, the battle damage is only doubled once.

Now, this is one example of a "this is how the game secretly works" rulings instead of a "this is how this card works" ruling. The problem is, both of these cards haven't had a card text update since 2006 and the ruling could be outdated as well. Something else to consider is that U.A. Powered Jersey has Problem-Solving Card Text, and PSCT is meant to be read literally. What I see on the card is "double battle damage" and what I don't see is "(this effect can only be applied once)" or some other qualifier that says that battle damage can't be doubled twice.

And if I'm being forced to choose between "this is what a PSCT card says" versus "this is what a nine-year-old ruling says," I know which one I'm going for. PSCT is love. PSCT is life. You get four times the battle damage from two U.A. Powered Jerseys.

#####CARDID= 17580 #####

Jason Birdsong writes…

Hey there Judge Joe. Thanks for taking the question.

I've recently started main decking Mind Drain to deal with Nekroz players, and one of the things I thought about was the Qliphort interaction. Would Mind Drain stop Qliphorts from being able to Normal Summon, since the effect would activate in hand? ~ Thanks!

Hello Jason! May I say that I love your surname? That's a pretty sweet surname.

Anyways.

PSCT can answer this one. Mind Drain prevents monster effects from activating in the hand. Card effects that use the chain are the only ones that activate, and you can determine which card effects activate by looking for colons and semi-colons. See Effect Veiler or Maxx "C" for examples.

The Qliphort effect that allows them to be Normal Summoned without Tributes doesn't contain any colons or semi-colons, so Mind Drain doesn't stop a Qliphort player from doing Qliphort things.

Norbert Reichenbach writes…

Hi

Can I tribute Apoqliphort Towers with The Monarchs Stormforth?

Greetings from Germany

Guten Tag, Norbert!

Apoqliphort Towers is unaffected by Spell and Trap effects, and The Monarchs Stormforth is a Spell Card. There was some confusion a few months ago, but it's been cleared up: you can't Tribute Apoqliphort Towers with The Monarchs Stormforth.

Jose Villegas writes…

Hello Judge.

I have a question regarding Re-qliate as opposed to Skill Drain. I read your Black and White on it, but that was more on the continuous nature of the card, while my problem is more towards the effect of the card itself, so I'll set an example to try and get my point across.

Turn 1: Player A sets Re-qliate

Turn 2: Player B Normal Summons Genex Undine and activates its effect. Player A chains Re-qliate to it, negating the effect.

Turn 3: Nothing happens

Turn 4: Player B Normal Summons another Genex Undine and activates its effect

Now I've read online that Re-qliate's effect is mandatory, and so Genex Undine would chain to it, resolving first and successfully activating its effect.

My problem here is that Skill Drain's also a Continuous Trap Card, and as far as I can tell, its effect is also mandatory. Now if we were to substitute Re-qliate for Skill Drain in the example, on turn 4 when player B would try and activate Genex Undine's effect, it would fail because Skill Drain would negate the effect.

So what's the question? I don't understand how a monster's effect, like Genex Undine or Satellarknight Deneb, can be chained to Re-qliate and not to Skill Drain. Shouldn't Re-qliate work exactly like Skill Srain and negate the effects of monsters on Summoning, or shouldn't Skill Drain work like Re-qliate and be chainable by monster effects?

Thanks for answering this question.

PS.- Is there a way to appeal a ruling to Konami if I feel the verbiage or wording is weird or flat out wrong?

Hello Jose!

This is a very good question and I'm happy to answer it.

The crux of understanding how Re-qliate works as a card is in its card text. If you compare it to Skill Drain, both cards are effect negation, but they don't work exactly the same way.

Skill Drain is a continuous Trap Card with a continuous effect. The negation effect will always apply as long as Skill Drain is face-up on the field. Because this is a continuous effect, it will apply immediately when a monster's Summoned.

Re-qliate's a little bit different. While Re-qliate's a continuous trap card, its negation effects use the chain, which you can see since the card text uses colons to denote activation conditions. That makes Re-qliate very-much-different from Skill Drain. Skill Drain's negation is always active and will negate face-up monsters' effects when they resolve. Re-qliate's negation is an effect that itself has to resolve before it does anything.

As such, that's why optional "when Summoned" effects get around Re-qliate; because of how the chain is formed (see rulebook 9.0 page 46), mandatory effects have to be first in the chain before optional effects, which means the monster effect will resolve successfully before Re-qliate resolves to negate it.

I totally get why that's confusing though. If you have additional questions for Konami, you can send your question to them. The correct e-mail address depends on your location; North, Central and South America, the address is us-ygorules@konami.com. If you're in Europe or Oceania, the address is yugioh@konami-europe.net.

#####CARDID= 17848 #####

Last question!

Dominic M. writes…

Hello Joe!

My name's Dominic and for a while I was playing the Cyber dragon OTK deck at locals for fun. (Joe: Playing a card game for fun?! How dare you!) I would of course run into a few Qliphort players. And my response to them would be to play Chimeratech Fortress Dragon using all their monsters that were lower level than Chimeratech.

But a judge ruled that I couldn't, because Pendulum Monsters can't be sent to the graveyard and Chimeratech's effect states that they need to go there. I know you can Fusion Summon using Pendulum Monsters to create cards like First of the Dragons and they still go to the Extra Deck, so I feel that the judge ruled this incorrectly. Can you clarify on why I can't/can do it? Thank you very much! ~ Dominic M.

Hello Dominic!

Your judge ruled it correctly. You need to be able to send the monsters to the graveyard in order to Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon. The mechanic of Fusion Summoning says to send the monsters to the grave, but if they go somewhere else instead, you can still Fusion Summon (rulebook 9.0, page 18). However, Chimeratech's Special Summon isn't a Fusion Summon, just a Special Summon; you have to be able to fulfill the Summoning conditions listed in order to bring out your multi-headed Machine dragon.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino