All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Reggie Rex Garcia writes…

Can I activate Ghostrick Lantern's attack negation effect when there's a face-up Archlord Kristya or Kaiser Coliseum, assuming we have the same number of monsters? Someone tells me you can't and that you can only resolve its attack negation effect if the Summoning restriction itself is chained to Lantern's effect.

Hello Rex!

One of the core rules of the game (that's sadly not listed in any official source yet) is that you can't activate an effect if something's preventing any of its mandatory components from happening. When Archlord Krystya's ability is active, monsters can't be Special Summoned. Since Ghostrick Lantern Special Summons as part of its effect, you can't activate Ghostrick Lantern.

If we change the situation and have Archlord Krystya in the graveyard, Ghostrick Lantern's effect is activated, then Call Of The Haunted is activated, Special Summoning Krystya, then Lantern's effect will resolve as much as possible according to the appropriate rules of Problem-Solving Card Text, which you can read here.

#####CARDID=13235#####

Claudio Naticchioni writes…

Hey Judge Joe, thanks a lot for the last articles: they confirmed some theories, refreshed some mechanics, cleared up some doubts and created new painful ones. But it's worth it! So thanks, really! One of the new things I learned is that "colons and semi-colons mean that an effect uses the chain."

Now, in the article about PSCT right before (published on 1/31/2013) you say that Dark Simorgh's Summon from either the hand or the graveyard does start a chain, even if I can't find any semi-colons. Here's the question: how do I understand it?

Hello Claudio!

The copy of the card you have may not have Problem-Solving Card Text, which is completely possible considering the card was initially printed in Stardust Overdrive before PSCT was a thing. Its latest printing was in the first wave of Tins from 2011 which fittingly enough was the release just after PSCT was implemented. You can see the latest version of Dark Simorgh's text in the official card database here. Colons and semi-colons are everywhere.

John B. writes…

Judge Joe,

I was wondering... can my opponent activate Fiendish Chain or Effect Veiler on Noble Knight Medraut? I know they can when it's equipped with a Noble Arms Equip Spell because it gains an effect… but when it's not equipped Medraut's effect is that it's a Light Normal monster. Can that actual effect be negated by Fiendish Chain and Effect Veiler, or can they only target Medraut when it has an equip spell attached to him?

Hello John!

It's always strange having to explain this, but because Noble Knight Medraut is a Normal Monster when it doesn't have Noble Arms equipped, it can't be the target of Effect Veiler or Fiendish Chain, even though it's an effect that's making Medraut a Normal Monster. Then, once it has a sword equipped, it stops being a Normal Monster which makes it vulnerable to Effect Veiler, Fiendish Chain and all the rest.

And even though you didn't ask about it, I think I'll need to address Skill Drain anyway. Skill Drain will act a Little Differently with Medraut. Since Skill Drain doesn't target, it will affect Medraut by negating the effect that will make Medraut a Normal Monster, making it an Effect Monster with no effect.

Jessie Houk writes…

Dear Joe…

Quick question about Shooting Quasar Dragon's effect to negate: Can it negate an effect that happens in damage calculation like Honest or Bujingi Crane?

Hello Jessie!

In the Damage Step, there are only a few types of effects that can activate:

- Effects that increase or decrease ATK or DEF
- Counter Traps
- Monster effects that negate activations

Shooting Quasar Dragon does that third thing, so you can absolutely negate Honest or Bujingi Crane with Shooting Quasar Dragon.

#####CARDID=9389#####

Joe Avalos writes…

Hi Joe, this is Joe and I have a quick question about the new wording of Necrovalley, most importantly the part that states, "Negate any card effect that would move a card from the graveyard, other than itself, to a different place". The scenario was the following: Player A has Necrovalley and a face-up Gravekeeper's Heretic. Player B Normal Summons Brotherhood of the Fire Fist - Spirit. On summon, Spirit's effect activates and Player B chains Forbidden Lance. Does Spirit still get to Special Summon its target since Necrovalley negates Spirit's effect but it's no longer affected due to Forbidden Lance?

Thanks in advance for the clarification.

Hello Joe!

Your intuition is correct. Forbidden Lance will prevent Spirit from being affected by Necrovalley, so Spirit's effect would resolve successfully.

Georgiy Kachurin writes…

Hey Joe,

Great job on the articles; they have helped me greatly to better understand the game.

I was wondering if there is a specific order in which cards have to be sent to graveyard, if they were sent there for a Fusion Summon or a Synchro Summon. Do they have to be sent in the order they are listed on the card? Would Tuner Monsters need to be sent to the grave first? I would imagine that this would make a difference if someone was using a card like Question.

Thanks in advance! Keep up the good work!

Hello Georgiy!

A good question! The rulebook makes no mention of the order in which cards sent for a Summon are supposed to go to the graveyard. It's basically left up to the player which monster they want to send first. Gameplay-wise, they're all considered to be sent at the same time (if done for a single Summon or a single effect that Summons).

And just because this is a natural extension of your question, for an Xyz Monster that leaves the field, you'd send the Xyz Monster to wherever it needs to go, then the remaining Xyz Materials would go to the graveyard. So if the Xyz Monster was destroyed, it would have to go to the graveyard before its materials. Logically, it can only work this way since an Xyz Monster keeps its Materials until it leaves the field.

Last question!

Juliet O'Hara writes…

Hi Joe,

Kind of a silly question for you. If for some reason I have 4025 Life Points, and I lose the coin toss for Jirai Gumo's effect, how many Life Points will I have? Would I round up or truncate down? What would happen in the hypothetical situation that I lost the coin toss so many times that I was left with 1 Life Point, and then lost the coin toss again (I'm very unlucky)?

Thanks for your time!

Hi Juliet!

This question always makes me twitch just a little.

The first question doesn't have an official answer, but it's been pretty consistently ruled at all levels of play for as long as I can remember, so I can confidently answer the first part of your question.

For any effect that would require you to half a value that's an odd number, round whatever value it would become up to the nearest 1. So paying half of 4025 would result in you having 2013 LP. This isn't in the rulebook or any official resource, so you'll just have to take my word for it.

Now, that dreaded second question…

The 1 LP scenario is the most hypothetical of all of the hypothetical scenarios in Yu-Gi-Oh. I say this because in my eight years of playing this game, I've never come across this in a game that I've played or judged, nor did this situation come up in the same tournament I was playing or judging, because in order for a player to have exactly 1 LP, that player and their opponent would have to engineer the situation to take place. Here's one way they'd have to do this:

One player activates a card or effect that sets their LP to something really, really low. Something like The Winged Dragon of Ra or Backs to the Wall would do the trick. Then, their opponent would have to not damage them even slightly otherwise the game ends before that player hits 1 LP. That player who now has 100 LP would need to either damage themselves by 50 or 75 or start using "lose half of your Life Point" effects. Assume you started with 100 LP. 100 halves to 50; 50 halves to 25; 25 to 13; 13 to 7' 7 to 4; 4 to 2; and finally 2 to 1. So you'd have to halve your LP seven times before you go to 1 LP. All the while, your opponent would have to not damage you for any amount they would normally damage you for.

It's safe to say this is highly unlikely. I'm sure there have been people that have done this in the various Yu-Gi-Oh! video games over the years, but we can't count those for a very large number of reasons. All we care about is the TCG, and the TCG has no official answer to the 1 LP scenario because it will virtually never, ever, ever become relevant.

On the astronomical chance that it does happen, I know how I would treat it, but just giving the answer would touch off a debate that has no definitive answer, and as such, I won't offer my opinion. Sorry for the non-answer, but in the long run and for my sanity, it's just better this way.

That's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, kick me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question may be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned.

-Joe Frankino