All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Chris McClune writes…

Hi Judge Joe, I'veasked you things before in the past and due to the insight you offer I'm here with another question. Or moreso, curious about how some cards interact with each other.

By using Destiny Hero - Diamond Dude's effect, you essentially skip the cost of a spell card and just use the effect. A card like Pot of Duality can be used without inhibiting Special Summons for the turn, or The Beginning of the End can be used to draw three without banishing monsters. Now, how does Diamond Dude work with cards that target at activation? Like Pot of Avarice or Pot of Dichotomy? And how does Diamond Dude work with Single Purchase? Which part does Diamond Dude skip and what part of the card does he use?

Thanks in advance for any help,
Chris McClune

Hello Chris!

Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude is one of the most unique cards in the game; there are no other cards like it. Previous rulings make it clear, and to be honest, Diamond Dude could probably use a card FAQ page on the official site because how it works doesn't exactly fit within the rules of the game.

As per previously official rulings, if the effect you're activating targets, you can activate the card as long as eligible targets exist. You don't pay costs for the effect, and activating it doesn't count as activating the spell card itself. That can make for some weird interactions, which are for the most part case-by-case. Some spell cards will say you can't do something the turn you activate "this card", like Pot of Duality and Gold Sarcophagus. If you use Diamond Dude on those effects, you don't apply those conditions.

Single Purchase has different wording. You won't banish for cost, you'll still add a monster from deck to hand, and based on the wording, the act of adding the card to your hand will prevent you from Normal Summoning monsters with a different name than the monster you searched. Hopefully my explanation helped more than it confused.

#####CARDID= 10180#####

Eric Palacios writes…

Hello! Eric Palacios here,

I just wanted to know about the interaction between Number 66: Master Key Beetle and Beelze of the Diabolic Dragons. If Key Beetle selects Beelze as a target and Beetle is then destroyed, what happens to Beelze?

Thank you!

Hello Eric!

Since Number 66: Master Key Beetle sends to graveyard and doesn't destroy the card it targeted, Beelze's effect won't affect it. If you choose to save your Master Key Beetle from being destroyed, you'll send your otherwise indestructible Beelze to the graveyard. I'm not one to usually dissuade readers from making certain plays, but I think I'd want to keep my indestructible 3000 ATK monster on the field as long as possible. Justsayin.

Raheem Palmer writes…

Hey Judge Joe,

I enjoy your articles and use them to better myself as a player. That's why I've come to you with a question about the Traptrix monsters and D.D. Trap Hole. The newest printing of the card says "Activate only when your opponent Sets 1 monster in Defense Position. Destroy and remove from play the Set monster and 1 monster you control." Since none of the Traptrix are affected by "Trap Hole" trap cards I was wondering what would happen. Would the opponent's monster still be banished even if my monster wasn't, or would nothing happen since both of them wouldn't leave the field?

Thanks for the help.

Hello Raheem!

The latest text is available in the card database, and it does indeed have Problem-Solving Card Text so we can answer this one pretty easily. "Destroy those targets, and if you do, banish them". Because the effect reads "those targets", it's not all-or-nothing: you destroy and banish as many of the targets as possible. Your Traptrix monster will be unaffected, but your opponent's monster will fall into the D.D. Trap Hole.

Jason writes…

My name is Jason and I have a question for you.

Let's say I have a Fire King Barong on my field and one set card in my spell and trap zone. I then Summon Coach Captain Bearman. I use Bearman's effect turning Barong into a Level 8. I then activate Skill Drain.

Here's my question. Since Bearman's effect is negated by Skill Drain, does Barong go back to Level 4? I know you hate two questions in one but I think these go together. The last part of Bearman's effect says it can only be used for Xyz Summon of a fire warrior type. Would Skill Drain negate this part of the effect also?

Thanks for your help

Hello Jason (not Grabher-Meyer)!

It is two questions, but I'll allow it. This time…

Generally speaking, once a monster effect resolves, that effect will continue to affect things until it goes away on its own. Activating Skill Drain after Coach Captain Bearman resolves doesn't change the fact that Bearman's effect already resolved. The only exception to this is if a monster is increasing its own ATK by its own effect and it only can increase its own attack, negating the monster's effect will also remove the ATK buff. This was a point of confusion a few years ago, but this is how we currently understand this game mechanic. A few examples:

Number 17: Leviathan Dragon has resolved its effect once. Its ATK is 2500. Afterwards, Skill Drain is activated. Its ATK drops back to 2000.


Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn resolves, targeting Blackwing – Bora the Spear. Skill Drain is later activated. Bora doesn't lose the ATK boost.


Blackwing – Sirocco the Dawn resolves, targeting itself. Skill Drain is later activated. Sirocco's doesn't lose the ATK boost.

Number 20: Giga-Brilliant's effect resolves when it's the only monster the player controls. Effect Veiler is later activated. Giga-Brilliant's ATK remains at 2100.

Unfortunately, there's no official game rule I can quote to back up my claims here, but at events you go to, this is how the interaction should be interpreted.

For the second question, I touched on this on the previous Court of Appeals. The restriction that Coach Captain Bearman can't be used for an Xyz Summon except for the Summon of a Fire Warrior is an effect that can't be negated. There's no official game term to differentiate between negatable effects and non-negatable "conditions", and it's not mentioned in the rulebook at this time, so I can't really explain it any further than that.

Allen Pierce writes…

Hi Joe!

Thanks for continuing your Court of Appeals articles and also for answering a previous question I submitted! Hoping you can help me out once more with a recent issue that came up regarding the infamous Light and Darkness Dragon.

My opponent had LaDD on the field and no other cards in play. I Summoned a Red Gadget and then attempted to chain Kagetokage to its effect. However, my opponent told me that since LaDD negates the Gadget's effect, that my response window to chain Kagetokage wasn't valid. We ended up playing it out as he stated, but I'm still curious as to exactly how this interaction should behave in regards to SEGOC and LaDD's negation coming into play. As always, thanks for taking the time to read this!

Hello Allen!

For this, we consult the Fast Effect timing page and the rulebook.

When you Normal Summon Red Gadget, you have two effects that can activate from that action: Red Gadget itself and the Kagetokage in your hand. Look at the chart on the the Fast Effect timing page. Normal Summoning doesn't start a chain, so you're in the left-most column. The next box after that is "does this activate a triggered effect?" Yes, it does, two in fact. We're now in a chain. This chain is formed according to the procedure listed in rulebook 8.0 page 44 under the section "When multiple card effects are activated simultaneously".

If SEGOC was an official term, it would be used here since this is what SEGOC actually is. Both effects are optional, so you put them on the chain in the order of your choosing, then the opponent gets the chance to respond. Because Light and Darkness Dragon is mandatory, it goes on the chain next as chain link 3 and assuming Light and Darkness Dragon has enough ATK and DEF it would negate whatever chain link 2 is.

Brennan Tyler writes…

Hello Judge Joe! I have a question about Cardcar D's effect and ruling. This issue has appeared many times at my locals and I'm hoping you can shed some light.

The scenario is simply Cardcar D being targeted by Fiendish Chain. After Fiendish Chain resolves, Cardcar D's effect should be negated. However, it has been ruled at my locals that since the "Tribute" effect is actually a cost then Cardcar D's effect activates in the grave despite Fiendish Chain. They have also responded the same way with Cyber Valley. Thank you very much and keep up the awesome work!

Thanks,

Brennan Tyler

Hello Brennan!

This is a common question. First, I have to correct an assumption of yours: cards activate where they start when you want to activate the effect. Cardcar D activates on the field, so that's where the effect is. Cardcar D sending itself to the graveyard doesn't change the fact that its effect is a field effect.

Despite that, Fiendish Chain works a Little Differently than cards like Breakthrough Skill or Effect Veiler. Fiendish Chain doesn't prevent effect activations, and it will only affect the monster while the monster is face-up on the field. So any monster that can remove itself from the field as a cost for its own effect, or if you can use another effect to remove the monster from the field or turn it face-down, can effectively dodge Fiendish Chain's negation.

That's why Cardcar D and the first effect of Cyber Valley get around Fiendish Chain. Breakthrough Skill and Effect Veiler, if they successfully resolve on the face-up Cardcar, will negate the effect. Even if you were to activate Cardcar D's effect, it would still be negated on resolution because that effect activated on the field while Cardcar D's effect was negated.

#####CARDID= 12365#####

Tyson Darn writes..

Hello Joe! Still loving your articles. My question is why people aren't allowed to sell their personal cards to other players at bigger events? I mean, they do belong to that player. So shouldn't the player be allowed to do what they want with their own property? I'm sure there are rules in place but it doesn't seem to make much sense to me that I can't sell something that belongs to me. Thank you very much for your time. Keep up all the good work!

Hello Tyson!

I like this question because I think there's a lack of understanding of this rule.

So, the big misconception is that the "no selling to non-vendors" rule is a Konami rule. It's not. This rule is used at the Tournament Organizer's discretion, but it's in every Tournament Organizer's best interest to use this rule. Here's why.

So you're a Tournament Organizer (TO) for a Regional Qualifier. Konami requires that each Regional Qualifier have a vendor on site to purchase product and accessories. Since most TO's are Official Tournament Stores, they'll vend at their own Regional, selling product and singles to a wider audience than they usually have access to. As the TO, you like this. But if there's only one vendor, players buying and selling on the floor will want to undercut the vendor price and take business from the TO. As a TO, you wouldn't be a fan of this. Hence, the rule.

At a YCS this is a Little Different but the result is the same. The TO for a YCS is either Konami or a TO that also has a vendor booth. In either case, Konami probably doesn't want buying and selling on the floor for consumer protection and accountability reasons: getting ripped off in a trade or a sale is something Konami doesn't want for the players because negative experiences at a YCS means losing customers in the long run. As players of the game ourselves, we want this game to survive, which means we want more people playing, not fewer, and people getting ripped off in on-the-floor sales and bad trades is one way to see people exit the game and never return.

By prohibiting sales on the floor, everyone has to go through vendors where if a bad sale occurs, Konami employees on site can quickly deal with the situation with both the customer and the vendor. If you're concerned about pricing of singles, remember there's competition among on-site vendors so prices should be around fair market value. If you're concerned with how seemingly low buy-prices are for vendors, unfortunately that's just the nature of the beast. Vendors need to make money, and they can't do that buying cards for the same amount they sell them for.

Last question!

Loukas Peterson writes…

Hey Joe!

Thanks for answering my ruling question last time so promptly! I was soooooo confused, and you cleared up my doubts. This question is more of a conduct question rather than a ruling question, but I think it's still vital to ask.

So last week at locals, I told my opponent I was entering my End Phase and waited a few seconds. After I did nothing in my End Phase, he drew a card for his turn! The filthy cheater! I never said I ended my End Phase! No one was on my side though. It was really traumatizing being called things like a "rule shark." I'm not a shark! Why did my opponent cheat me and get away with it???

Sincerely,

Loukas Peterson

*sigh*

First, you know my thoughts on using the phrase "he cheated me."

Second, while you may not be a rule shark, if you didn't have a reason to stay in the End Phase, and you didn't have anything to activate, and you didn't indicate to your opponent they had the opportunity to activate a fast effect, you may have been Slow Playing.

Thirdly, no one likes "that guy." Don't be that guy.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned.

-Joe Frankino