All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Ewan writes…

This is Ewan from Toronto. Firstly, thanks for all of your articles; they are very helpful to me and my friends. Player A activates Jiaotu, Darkness of the Yang Zing's effect by sending two cards to the grave to Summon Suanni, Fire of the Yang Zing and Bi'an, Earth of the Yang Zing. Player B responds by activating Ring of Destruction targeting Suanni then chains Torrential Tribute. So the question is: do all the Yang Zing miss timing? Thanks for your reply.

Hello Ewan!

Torrential Tribute resolves as Chain Link 2, destroying all monsters on the field, then Ring of Destruction resolves but doesn't do anything since the target's no longer there. The "last thing to happen" is still Ring of Destruction since its activation wasn't negated, so all of the Yang Zing monsters can't activate their effects; the "last thing to happen" wasn't the Yang Zings being destroyed.

#####CARDID=18057#####

Chris Aday writes…

Hello Judge Joe!

So, this has been quite a hot topic lately...

If Player A activates Kozmotown and Player B chains Totem Bird, will Kozmotown get its effect? I know I should only be asking one question per email, but this follow up is super important. Could Mystical Space Typhoon be chained to Totem Bird, targeting Kozmotown? And if so, would Kozmotown get its effect to search?

Thanks!

Hello Chris!

The follow-up question's definitely relevant, so I'll allow it!

When the activation of a spell card is negated, it's not considered to be sent from the field to the graveyard. That's not in the rulebook, but it's our current understanding anyway. So in your first scenario, Kozmotown's search effect won't activate since it's not being sent from the Field Zone to the yard.

However! You can indeed chain Mystical Space Typhoon to Totem Bird's effect and target Kozmotown. In that case it will be destroyed by MST instead, and that will allow you a search with Kozmotown's effect after the chain resolves. That's a good play right there.

Mark Wasilko writes…

Hey Judge Joe, Mark here again! First off, thanks for your answer with my last question!

On to my question, which is a sort of general thing rather than just one question. I'm super pumped for the Emperor of Darkness Structure Deckcoming to the TCG in January. But it runs no Extra Deck because certain cards restrict you from doing so, and I'm concerned that when you go into a match, it won't be hard for your opponent to see that you're playing Monarchs since you'll have no Extra Deck. I don't like my opponent having that knowledge right away.

I'm sure there's some sort of rule about this, but would there be anything wrong with having fifteen empty card sleeves sitting where the Extra Deck would normally god? And would that then create a problem with the card restrictions? If not, is there anything else I can do to camouflage my deck choice without breaking any rules. I naturally want to stay within them and play fairly.

Thanks so much for you Black and White articles, they're absolute gold! ~ God bless, Mark B. Wasilko

Hello Mark!

Sadly, the rules specifically say that the number of cards in each player's deck is public knowledge. That includes the Extra Decks. Putting empty sleeves in the Extra Deck Zone in an attempt to mislead your opponent would be misrepresenting the game state, and that's Unsporting Conduct – Cheating, which would result in a Disqualification Without Prize.

Suffice to say, don't do that.

Ideally, I tell players in any tournament I Head Judge that they need to put the Extra Deck in the Extra Deck Zone at the start of the match to avoid Extra Deck issues like this.

John B. writes…

Hello Joe,

I have a question about Lose 1 Turn and Skill Drain, and their interaction with certain effects. I was at a local tournament, where a player had a face-up Lose 1 Turn and then activated the effect of Performage Trick Clown. Trick Clown targeted itself and Special Summoned itself, but the player said that he did not take any damage from the effect because it was negated by Lose 1 Turn.

That didn't seem right to me, because it seems like you shouldn't be able to negate half of an effect. But a judge that was playing at the tournament said damage would not be inflicted, because Trick Clown hits the field with its effects already negated (Joe: Judge playing in a tournament and giving rulings? Not ok.)

My question is, should Trick Clown have inflicted 1000 damage? And also, would Skill Drain or Lose 1 Turn stop half of the effects of Star Seraph Sovereign or the PSY-Framegear monsters? Thanks in advance! ~ John B.

Hello John!

Performage Trick Clown's effect activates and resolves while it's in the graveyard. Yes, it's on the field when the effect resolves, but the effect was activated off the field, so both Skill Drain and Lose 1 Turn can't negate them.

David CM writes…

Hey Judge Joe,

Thanks for all your articles. I find them very helpful. I have a question about one of my favorite new themes – the Kaiju – and how they interact in a certain situation with Remove Brainwashing.

Suppose I've Summoned a Kaiju to my opponent's side of the field. Then I Summon a Kaiju to my side of the field. I have a previously set Remove Brainwashing. I activate that and then the Kaiju's supposed to return to my control, but I already have one myself. Herein lies my question and issue.

Can I activate Remove Brainwashing at this time? If I do, does the Kaiju come back to my field then get sent to the graveyard, or does it come to my field and then I get to choose which one I send? Or does the fact that I can only control one Kaiju mean that even if I activate the trap, it will just stay with my opponent because it can't come?

Thanks in anticipation. ~ Regards, David CM

Hello David!

You can certainly activate Remove Brainwashing here. You'll gain control of the opponent's Kaiju when it resolves, but you'll be forced to send it to the graveyard because their effects say you can only control one at a time. The game won't give you the choice here; you have to keep the one you started with.

#####CARDID= 19169 #####

Mike writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

My question is about Book of Moon, and other effects that change a battle position monster to face-down defense, and public knowledge. I noticed that at my locals many players ask the defense of a monster that is in face-down position when it was previously face-up. When did this rule in public knowledge change if it is indeed valid?

Thanks for reading! -Mike.

Hello Mike!

Check out Konami's Yu-Gi-Oh Tournament Policy, Section V, E: Public Knowledge. Information on a "specific, named card" is public knowledge. The fact that the monster was previously face-up is irrelevant. If you can name the card, you're allowed to know its stats.

Last question!

Hi Judge Joe,

My name is Roger, and I'm an avid reader of your ruling articles. However, I have a question about one of the rulings in your most recent Court of Appeals.

"And if you use Gamma first, you can't activate Alpha because Trigger Effects are Chain L:ink 1 and we're past the point of activating Trigger Effects. Putting it another way, because of Spell Speeds, you can't chain a Trigger Effect to a Quick Effect. So you can only activate one of your PSY-Framegear monsters in this case."

I understand your Reasoning that because Gamma's a Quick Effect and Alpha's a Trigger Effect you can't chain Alpha to Gamma, but if that's the case then I'm very confused. If you can only use Trigger Effects as Chain Link 1, why is it not possible to simply use a Spell Speed 2 effect whenever the timing for a Trigger Effect is met to prevent the activation of said Trigger Effect?

If you can't chain a Spell Speed 1 effect to something that's Spell Speed 2, couldn't the turn player just respond to their own Summon by activating a Mystical Space Typhoon immediately after summoning and their opponent couldn't use Alpha at all? Thank you for all your ruling help. ~ Roger

Hello Roger!

That is a fair question, and luckily, there's an easy answer.

Take a look at the fast effects timing chart. In the question you cited, an El Shaddoll Construct was just Fusion Summoned. We're coming out of a chain, so we follow the gray arrow to the yellow box labeled "does this activate a triggered effect?" Yes, it activates two optional effects: Construct itself and the PSY-Framegear Alpha in the opponent's hand.

Notice where we are on the chart and what the current box lets us do; neither player is allowed to activate non-trigger effects before trigger effects. That's the trick here. The turn player can't activate Mystical Space Typhoon simply because the game doesn't allow it. Triggered effects must activate before anything else. That's always been the case, even before the fast effect timing chart was published.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. This weekend kicks off the Ultimate Duelist Series Qualifiers all over North America. UDS Qualifiers are the easiest way to get enough points to qualify for the twice-per-year UDS Invitational where a kick-ass championship belt's awarded. Want to find a UDS Qualifier? Click here!