All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Enzan writes…

Hi Joe!

I've been wondering about this for some time now, so I'd like to get some clarification about it.

I have a face-up "tellarknight" monster on my field, and I activate Satellarknight Skybridge and target the said "tellarknight" monster. Now the question is, if I were to activate Forbidden Lance targeting the same "tellarknight" monster, and Forbidden Lance resolves successfully, will it prevent me from Summoning a "tellarknight" monster from the effect of Satellarknight Skybridge since the targeted "tellarknight" monster can't be returned to the deck?

Thank you for taking your time to go through this e-mail, and thanks in advance for your answer! Regards ~ Enzan

Hello Enzan!

You only need to be able to return the targeted monster to the deck when you first activate Satellarknight Skybridge. Because the spell contains the phrase "and if you do" between the text that Special Summons the monster from the deck and returning the target to the deck, you don't have to do both on resolution. You Special Summon first, then return, but because Forbidden Lance's makes your Satellarknight unaffected by other Spell and Trap effects, you won't return it to the deck, which is great for you since you probably want it on the field anyway!

#####CARDID= 8481#####

Dan writes…

Hi Judge Joe

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

My question is, can Bujingi Turtle negate a flip effect that activates as a result of the flip effect monster being attacked and flipped face-up? The specific circumstances were a Bujintei Kagutsuchi attacking a face-down Shaddoll Dragon with nothing else on my side of the field and a Bujin Yamato also on his with the Bujingi Turtle in his graveyard.

Thanks ~ Dan

Hello Dan!

Bujingi Turtle's newest text in Astral Pack 5 includes the text "except in the Damage Step", and the flip effect activates in the Damage Step, so Bujingi Turtle can't be activated.

Adam Aldridge writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

Long time reader, first time questioner.

I was wondering about the mechanic of Ritual Summoning. Let's say my opponent is Ritual Summoning Relinquished and is attempting to use two different Djinn monsters. I told him that he could not due to game mechanics and he called our local judge. The judge ruled in his favor, because I could not find a resource saying otherwise. Thanks for all of your knowledge, and for using it for the betterment of the Yu-Gi-Oh! community.

Your loyal reader ~ Adam

Hello Adam!

The section of rulebook 8.0 for Ritual Summons doesn't list it, but one of the rules that I believe to be true about Rituals is that once you meet the Tribute requirement, you can't use anymore monsters. What that essentially means for a Level 1 monster like Relinquished is that you can only use one monster for its Ritual Summon, this includes Ritual Raven. (You can read more about that back in Court of Appeals: The Worst of 2013.)

Anthony writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

I had a question about some new rulings my friend explained to me about Satellarknight Summoning effects. He explained that if a Satellarknight monster is hit with Bottomless Trap Hole or Book of Moon, it won't get its effect. He said as long as the monster doesn't stay in its Summoned position, its ability won't work. It'd be nice to have clarification on it, thanks.

Sincerely ~ Anthony

Hello Anthony!

One of the features about Problem-Solving Card Text is that any additional conditions that need to be true on effect activation and resolution will be listed on the card effect. They usually appear in a second statement after the semi-colon (or colon if there was no cost or targeting) and can look something like "This card must be face-up on the field in order to activate and resolve this effect" or for something like Infernity Archfiend "You must have no cards in your hand to activate and to resolve this effect."

The Satellarknights we currently have don't bear any such text. As long as the effect activates, it will resolve regardless of where the monster is when the effect resolves.

Johne Smith writes…

Joe,

I have a question regarding The Monarchs Stormforth and Forbidden Lance. If my opponent activates The Monarchs Stormforth and I chain Forbidden Lance on my monster, will they be able to Tribute it?

Hello Johne!

The Monarchs Stormforth is certainly one of "those" cards that just raises so many questions for players and judges alike.

Firstly, The Monarchs Stormforth doesn't target. The monster being Tributed is chosen at the time of the Tribute Summon, which is after The Monarchs Stormforth resolves. Why is that important? Because it helps us to answer the crux of this question, which is "does The Monarchs Stormforth affect the monster it's attempting to tribute?"

My feeling is that The Monarchs Stormforth changes something the player can do, namely what monsters they can Tribute. And if the card affects the player, it certainly can't affect the monster at the same time. Forbidden Lance won't be able to stop The Monarchs Stormforth from happening.

#####CARDID=16917#####

Andrew DeVita writes…

Hello Mr. Frankino,

I'd like to start off by saying how much I love your articles, and how fun they are to read. It's always a blast. With that said, I'd like to ask a question about chains and Baxia, Brightness of the Yang Zing.

I was dueling a friend, and I summoned Baxia using Chiwen, Light of the Yang Zing; Bixi, Water of the Yang Zing; Suanni, Fire of the Yang Zing; and Pulao, Wind of the Yang Zing. I attempted to use Baxia's effect to bounce two set backrow cards and one set monster, but my opponent activated Fiendish Chain, claiming that since he chained to the Summon of Baxia, that circumvented Bixi's trap immunity. I argued that because Fiendish Chain has to target a monster on the field, Baxia's Summon was successful, ending that action. Therefore Bixi's trap immunization was in effect by the time I activated Baxia's effect. Can you clarify the accuracy of either of our claims? I'd really appreciate it! ~ Andrew

Hello Andrew!

You have it right. The "unaffected by Trap effects" protection kicks in as soon as Baxia's Summon is successful. Look to Page 45 of rulebook 8.0 under the section "Actions which cannot be chained to," and you'll find the statement that "You can only create a Chain by responding to the activation of a card or effect. Summoning a monster, Tributing, changing a monster's Battle Position and paying costs are not effect activations and therefore you cannot respond to those actions using a Chain."

Sam writes…

Hey Joe, it's Sam from the UK. I had an unfortunate ruling (at least I thought it was) when playing against a Shaddoll player yesterday. I had a first turn Googly-Eyes Drum Dragon, with two Super Defense Robot Xyz Materials and nothing in the graveyard. The Shaddoll player Fusion Summoned El Shaddoll Construct and attacked; Googly-Eyes Drum Dragon was destroyed; and from there we hit a snag. My opponent believed that since there were no Super Defense Robots in the grave before Drum Dragon was destroyed, I couldn't activate its effect. A judge was called over and he confirmed that, so would the same be said for Number C101: Silent Honor DARK if it was destroyed with Number 101: Silent Honor ARK as Xyz Material?

Hello Sam!

Googly-Eyes Drum Dragon would be able to activate its effect in that situation. The Xyz Monster and its attached Materials go to the graveyard at the same time. The materials are in the graveyard when Googly-Eyes Drum Dragon would activate its Special Summon effect, so the effect can be activated. Same applies for a Number C101: Silent Honor DARK with a Number 101: Silent Honor ARK attached.

#####CARDID=14231#####

Last question!

Loukas Peterson writes…

To Judge Joe (why'd your parents name you that?) (Joe: They knew back then.)

Alright, I couldn't find this in the official rule book, so I thought I would contact my favorite judge for some answers. I decided to play Burning Abyss at my locals, and I had Tour Guide From the Underworld for the win. I Summoned TGU and activated the effect, but my opponent responded with Vanity's Emptiness, saying I couldn't Summon. I, obviously, have enough swag so I knew I could Special Summon, but he insisted I couldn't.

How much swag do you need to Special Summon under Vanity's Emptiness? I should have enough, but I couldn't find it in the rule book!

From ~ Loukas

I've yet to meet anyone with enough swag to Special Summon under Vanity's Emptiness. I knew someone who came close though. He activated Trap Stun and was just about to Special Summon, but then his head exploded. What a shame.

Missed it by *that* much.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future edition of Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned.

-Joe Frankino