All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Gustavo Duarte writes…

Hi, judge!

I have a straightforward question: what's the difference between "all" and "as many as possible"? Mirror Force says: "When an opponent's monster declares an attack: Destroy all Attack Position monsters your opponent controls."

On the other hand, Blazing Mirror Force says: "When an opponent's monster declares an attack: Destroy as many Attack Position monsters your opponent controls as possible, and if you do, take damage equal to half the combined original ATK of those destroyed monsters, then inflict damage to your opponent equal to the damage you took."

Why doesn't Blazing Mirror Force say "all Attack Position monsters your opponent controls"? It would be... nicer...

Hello Gustavo!

There's actually a big difference. If Blazing Mirror Force said "all" instead of "as many as possible," the card would work differently.

The PSCT conjunction "and if you do" has a specific meaning; you have to do the first part in order to continue resolving the effect. So let's look at a fictitious version of Blazing Mirror Force that says "Destroy all… and if you do…" If your opponent has three face-up monsters and one of them is Stardust Spark Dragon for example, and you activate Blazing Mirror Force and they chain Spark Dragon's effect on any of those monsters, Blazing won't destroy all attack position monsters your opponent controls, meaning we have to stop resolving Blazing Mirror Force. No damage would happen here.

But! That was a fictitious Blazing Mirror Force. The real Blazing Mirror Force says destroy "as many as possible," meaning you can continue resolving the effect even if you don't destroy all the attack position monsters your opponent controls.

#####CARDID= 19158 #####

Paris writes…

Hi Judge Joe!

This is my very first time submitting a ruling question to you. I have learned so much about the game as a whole from reading your articles and I'm excited to hear your thoughts on this. My question is in two parts and concerns the interactions between two new cards released in Dimension of Chaos. Specifically, Kozmoll Wickedwitch and Graydle Eagle.

First question: Player A controls a Kozmoll Wickedwitch, with a Kozmo Dark Destroyer in hand. Player B controls a Graydle Eagle. Both monsters are in attack position. Player B attacks with Graydle Eagle, destroying it, targeting Kozmoll Wickedwitch with its effect. Can Player A respond to the activation of Graydle Eagle's effect with Kozmoll Wickedwitch's effect to banish herself? It is my interpretation that because it is in the Damage Step Kozmoll Wickedwitch cannot activate her effect in response.

And the second question: Assume that Player B did resolve the effect of Graydle Eagle to equip to and take control of Kozmoll Wickedwitch. In Main Phase 2, Player A activates Mystical Space Typhoon targeting the Graydle Eagle. Player B chains the effect of Kozmoll Wickedwitch to pay 1000 LP and prevent her from being destroyed by card effects. The chain resolves and Graydle Eagle is destroyed, but is unable to destroy Kozmoll Wickedwitch because of her effect. Does player B retain control of Kozmoll Wickedwitch? Or is she returned to Player A?

Thanks for your time! ~ Paris

Hello Paris!

As you surmised, Kozmoll Wickedwitch's effects can't be activated in the Damage Step since they don't meet the requirements (as described in Rulebook 9.1 on page 37). For your second question, we're going to extrapolate Snatch Steal's behavior and say that Kozmoll Wickedwitch will return to its rightful owner.

Connor Griffith writes…

Hello Judge Joe! How are you?

Connor Griffith here again with a question about the newly hyped Luster Pendulum, the Dracoslayer.

Say I have two copies of a Pendulum Monster face-up in my Extra Deck and the third copy is in my Pendulum Zone. Can I use Luster Pendulum's effect to destroy the other card if I don't have anything to add? I'm assuming you can't, but I may be missing something!

Thanks so much for all you do.

Hello Connor!

Your assumption is correct. If you don't have a copy of the other Pendulum card in your Main Deck, you can't activate Luster Pendulum, the Dracoslayer's effect.

Danilo writes…

Hello Joe,

When my opponent Normal Summons a Majespecter Cat - Nekomata and I activate Chain Disappearance to banish it and all copies of it, will my opponent still get the search effect during the End Phase or is Nekomata here treated like Genex Neutron, which has to be face-up during the End Phase to use its effect?

Best regards, Danilo (Germany)

Hello Danilo!

The effect doesn't activate in the End Phase, it only activates when the card is Normal Summoned. Once it resolves, the search happens in the End Phase regardless of what happens to Majespecter Cat – Nekomata.

Geraden Wilbanks writes…

Hey Joe! I had a question about card text. The card in question is Dark Trap Hole or Darkfall as it is known in the current printing. When I was looking at the card I thought it would be a great answer to the new format if you had a way to consistently grab it. Which brings me my question: Can Traptrix Myrmeleo grab Darkfall because of the printing also calling it Dark Trap Hole? ~ Thanks!

Hello Geraden!

Always play cards as if they had the most recent text. I recommend using the card database for such a purpose. The name of the card is Darkfall. It should not be treated as Dark Trap Hole for any purpose. You must play any copies of Dark Trap Hole as if they had the name Darkfall instead. As such, you can't search it from your deck with Traptrix Myrmeleo.

Daniel Dye writes…

Dear Judge Joe,

Thank you for your time in answering this e-mail. I'm an aspiring judge and I ran into one of my first brain Twisters. Here's the situation:

Player A controls a Hot Red Dragon Archfiend Abyss. Turn Player B activates Dark Hole. Player A activates Abyss' effect in response, starting a chain.

This is where I was called over. The text on Hot Red Dragon Archfiend Abyss states "During either player's turn: You can target 1 face-up card your opponent controls; negate its effects until the end of this turn."

I consulted the new 9.1 rulebook and found that "cards you 'control' are the cards in your Monster Zone, Spell & Trap Zone, Field Zone, and Pendulum Zone." So I ruled that Hot Red Dragon Archfiend Abyss was allowed to negate the effect of Dark Hole. Was I correct in doing so? Or did I misunderstand the translation of rules? Your help will assist me in becoming a better judge. Thank you!

Hello Daniel!

Your analysis of the situation is spot-on. You can indeed negate Normal Spells and Normal Traps with Hot Red Dragon Archfiend Abyss. Number 22: Zombiestein works the same way, too.

#####CARDID= 19016 #####

Lewis writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

I have a question about two specific cards: Performage Plushfire and Zefraxi, Treasure of the Yang Zing. While reading the Giant Set Review of Dimension of Chaos, we were told about the interaction between Plushfire and Luster Pendulum, the Dracoslayer and how Plushfire gets its monster effect when destroyed in the Pendulum Zone.

Now if we read Zefraxi's monster effect it has the same wording as Plushfire except that it's sent to the bottom of the deck instead of Special Summoning a monster. Now it's been ruled to my knowledge that Zefraxi goes to the Extra Deck when destroyed in the Pendulum Zone even though it has the monster effect of "when this card leaves the field put it on the bottom of the deck." So I suppose my question is: how is Zefraxi ruled when destroyed in the Pendulum Zone.

Thanks for answering my question if you get a chance. ~ Lewis

Hello Lewis!

To answer your question directly, if Zefraxi, Treasure of the Yang Zing is destroyed while in the Pendulum Zone, it goes to the Extra Deck, as per game rules.

What seems to have tripped you up here is that the effect that sends Zefraxi to the bottom of the Main Deck is part of the resolution of another card effect. When Zefraxi's Special Summoned from the Main Deck or Pendulum Summoned, you can target another Yang Zing or Zefra monster. The target becomes a Tuner for the turn, and also sends Zefraxi to the bottom of the deck when the target leaves the field. You only send Zefraxi to the bottom of the deck if you used that effect. If you didn't make something else a Tuner, Zefraxi would be treated like a regular Pendulum Monster card and would go back to the Extra Deck as normal.

Last question!

Zack Daniels writes…

I have a question regarding the effect of the Synchro Monster Samsara, Dragon of Rebirth, specifically the "You can only use the effect once per turn" part.

I've used cards that have had that type of effect before, but never like this. It says that if Samsara, Dragon of Rebirth's sent to the Graveyard, once per turn its effect can be activated to bring a monster from either graveyard to my side of the field as a Special Summon.

Does that mean that as long as Samsara, Dragon of Rebirth is in the Graveyard, a person can bring a monster from the graveyard each turn other than this card itself? I've searched the rulings and the forums for a legit answer to this question, but I found nothing saying that it couldn't be used this way.

Hello Zack!

While it would be great if Samsara, Dragon of Rebirth worked like that, sadly, it doesn't. The text you provided in your e-mail wasn't from the card database so the wording was a Little Different than the official text, and that may have been where the confusion came in.

When you see the phrase "You can only activate/use the effect of 'cardname' once per turn," it means if a second copy of the card would fulfill the conditions to activate the effect, you can't do it since you've already used that effect this turn for a card with the same name.

Samsara, Dragon of Rebirth will only activate after it's initially destroyed, not once per each turn afterwards. There is however a card that does exactly what you described, and that's Helpoemer.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. He entered a local recently, started 2-0 and dropped. Some men just want to watch the world burn.