Welcome back to Court of Appeals! We're quickly coming up on this year's World Championship Qualifiers! As such, I'm going to answer as many questions as I can for this week's Court of Appeals and the next one which will come out just days before the North American WCQ! As usual, the ground rules:

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Piotr Ślusarski writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

Thank you for previous clarification on my Cyber Dragon Core question :)

I was recently playing with friend who was using infamous Handtrix deck. I had Cyber Dragon in Attack Position and no other cards on field. He had Vanity's Emptiness on field. He Normal Summoned Fire Hand and attacked. During Damage Calculation, he activated Forbidden Scripture. Now we were wondering what would happen…

He said that Forbidden Scripture will negate Emptiness so he would be able to Summon Ice Hand and Emptiness will stay on the field, because it's all still happening in Damage Step, so Scripture is still negating it. Can you please clarify this for me?

Hello Piotr!

Monsters destroyed by battle are sent to the graveyard at the end of the Damage Step, and Forbidden Scripture's effect lasts until the end of the Damage Step. Forbidden Scripture will be applying its effect when Fire Hand is destroyed. Because of that, Vanity's Emptiness is not preventing Ice Hand's Summon.

Brennan Tyler writes…

Hello Joe, I have a question about Forbidden Dress. So for example, let's say Battlin' Boxer Lead Yoke gets targeted by Number 101: Silent Honor ARK. The player controlling Battlin' Boxer Lead Yoke chains Forbidden Dress. My question is whether or not Forbidden Dress would protect Battlin' Boxer Lead Yoke from being taken. I say no, simply because Battlin' Boxer Lead Yoke was already targeted and thus the full effect cannot go through and protect him. Whereas Skill Prisoner would have protected Lead Yoke since Number 101: Silent Honor ARK's effect has not resolved yet.

Am I incorrect on these rulings or is Forbidden Dress just that amazing? Thanks so much and good luck on getting that Qualifier! (Joe: Well… about that…)

Hello Brennan!

As you surmised, Forbidden Dress and Skill Prisoner work a Little Differently. Forbidden Dress prevents the targeted monster from being targeted by other effects, while Skill Prisoner negates monster effects that target. Chaining Forbidden Dress to Number 101: Silent Honor ARK won't prevent ARK's effect from resolving, as it's already targeted. Number 101: Silent Honor ARK's effect would fully resolve and attach its target.

Sam Friedman writes…

Hi Judge Joe…

My name is Sam Friedman and I love reading Court of Appeals. It's helped me learn a lot about the ins-and-outs of Yu-Gi-Oh! and won me a lot of games in the process.

My question has to do with Mystical Space Typhoon and Artifact Sanctum. I activate Mystical Space Typhoon on my opponent's Artifact Sanctum and my opponent chains it. This, of course, means not only will my opponent Summon an Artifact but he'll also destroy one card I control. However, this doesn't make any sense because shouldn't Artifact Sanctum send itself to the graveyard immediately after it resolves? We both know you can't destroy cards in grave, so how would Sanctum trigger its destruction effect? Or does Sanctum just sit on the field after it resolves? Thank you for reading this Joe and I hope you have a wonderful day.

Hello Sam!

Spells and traps don't go to the graveyard immediately after the resolve; spells and traps go to the grave when the chain resolves or if a card effect destroys them before the chain fully resolves. This is why a chained Artifact Sanctum is so brutal; Sanctum resolves first, Special Summoning an Artifact, then Mystical Space Typhoon resolves, destroying the Artifact Sanctum that's still on the field.

#####CARDID=16156#####

D. Cobb writes…

Hey Judge Dredd err… Judge Joe!

I normally don't have ruling issues but this keeps coming up and every time I see a judge rule on it, I get a different response. My opponent controls Fire Hand in defense. I control a Spellbook Magician of Prophecy affected by Spellbook of Power. If my Magician destroys the Fire Hand, will Fire Hand get to destroy AND summon Ice Hand or will the Fire Hand just be able to destroy a card and not summon Ice Hand? I've even seen judges (at Regional events in some duel vids that I watch) say that the Hands can't activate period. Thanks for your input!

D. Cobb

Hello D. Cobb!

The crux of this question is actually more Damage Step-related and not timing-related. After Damage Calculation, it's determined that Fire Hand is destroyed by battle. Because Spellbook of Power says when the targeted monster "destroys a monster by battle" and it lacks the words "and sends it to the graveyard", Spellbook of Power's effect will activate at this moment, while Fire Hand is still on the field waiting to be sent to the graveyard. After Spellbook of Power resolves, Fire Hand is destroyed and sent to the graveyard as a result of battle. Fire Hand will activate in a separate chain and resolve normally.

Scott Stephens writes…

The Gladiator Beasts say "At the end of the Battle Phase, if this card attacked or was attacked: You can shuffle it into the Deck;" some effect will go off.

Does the card need to be on the field or does it being attacked make the effect go off?

Hello Scott!

I think I understand what you're asking. At the end of the Battle Phase, the Gladiator Beast monster that battled must be face-up on the field in order for its effect to activate. If it leaves the field before the end of the Battle Phase, the Gladiator Beast can't activate its effect.

Jason Leong writes…

Hi Joe,

Great work, I read CoA all the time and it's often enlightening... except when Loukas is involved... (Joe: I humbly disagree. Loukas questions are often enlightening. Or maybe that's "bewildering"…)

This question concerns differences in OCG and TCG rulings. The OCG ruling for Bujingi Turtle states that it can't activate in the Damage Step. However, some sources for TCG rulings seem to state that cards that negate such as Photon Strike Bounzer, and Skull Meister can activate in Damage Step. Short question: Can Bujingi Turtle activate in the damage step?

Thanks,

Jason Leong

Hi Jason!

My current understanding of Damage Step rules can be found here. So let's look at Bujingi Turtle. It negates an effect and has to directly chain to what Turtle wants to negate. In addition, it doesn't say it can't activate in the Damage Step. This is the Reasoning that's used to determine that Bujingi Turtle can activate in the Damage Step. Until we get more information, this is how you can expect the card to work. Of course, ask your tournament's Head Judge to be certain.

Manuel Peraza writes…

Judge Joe,

First thank you for answering one of my last questions dealing with Dark Worlds (especially Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World) in your articles. Onto my question dealing with Bottomless Trap Hole and Soul Charge

I have a set Bottomless Trap Hole. My opponent activates Soul Charge and chooses three monsters. Can I activate my Bottomless Trap Hole to banish all three or not be able to activate Bottomless Trap Hole at all? Thank you Judge Joe.

-Manny

Hello Manny!

Bottomless Trap Hole's latest text makes it clear. You may activate Bottomless Trap Hole when you opponent Summons multiple monsters, and it will destroy and banish all monsters that have 1500 or more ATK when it resolves. Bottomless Trap Hole is a very effective counter to Soul Charge.

#####CARDID=16058#####

Jay Chernak writes…

When Acid Trap Hole targets Geargiarmor, it's destroyed after being flipped, so wouldn't it miss timing?

Hello Jay!

We can see the answer on Acid Trap Hole's effect. Because the word "then" is used, the destruction (or the flip-down) is "the last thing to happen" and doesn't include the flip face-up portion of the effect. After the chain resolves, Geargiarmor won't be able to activate in this situation.

Reggie Rex Garcia writes…

Hey Judge Joe. Thanks for the awesome articles.

Here's my question. On the field is a Mecha Phantom Beast monster and a Mecha Phantom Beast Token, increasing the monster's Level by 3. Later in the game, Star Changer is activated further increasing its Level by 1. If the Token is removed from the field, what would be the Level of the monster? In the same situation, what is the level of the monster if the effect of Heraldic Beast Berners Falcon is activated instead of Star Changer?

Hello Reggie!

Two questions, but I'll allow it this time. In the first situation, the monster will have its original level plus the adjustment from Star Changer. Removing the extra 3 Levels from The Mecha Phantom Beast doesn't affect the already-resolved Star Changer. Heraldic Beast Berners Falcon, however, makes the Level set to 4 so that effectively removes the modifier from Star Changer.

Anthony Woods writes…

Hey Joe,

I enjoy reading your articles. I know you only answer questions about TCG cards but seeing as this card will be released around the time you post your next Court of Appeals I figured I'd ask. It's about Michael, the Arch-Lightsworn. If it's in the graveyard I'm assuming that it counts as a Lightsworn for Judgment Dragon's Effect to Special Summon itself from the hand? I keep being told both rulings and so I would appreciate yours so I know for sure. I would like to know so I can use it correctly.

Thanks,

Matt

Hello Matt!

When a card effect asks for a "'Lightsworn' monster", it's shorthand for "monster with 'Lightsworn' in its name." Michael, the Arch-Lightsworn's name contains the character string "Lightsworn", so it is indeed a Lightsworn monster. This concept also works with the XX-Saber monsters, which are all considered "X-Saber" monsters.

And just because I can mention it, the "Heroic Challenger" and "Heroic Champion" monsters are NOT "HERO" monsters. Sadly.

Joel Midgley writes…

Hi there. I recently got into an argument about cards that negate other cards effects. More specifically, I was told that you cannot resolve Lonefire Blossom's effect if it was revived with Debris Dragon. This irks me, as I know that Dandylion does get its effect, have seen players resolve Tuningware's draw effect under Junk Synchron, and this is how I have played for as long as I can remember. I actually have a Fish deck that uses Oyster Meister and Deep Sweeper under Superancient Deepsea King Coelacanth. (Joe: Deep Sweeper's not gonna work… see my response below.)

Now for the actual question. Do effects that just say "Special Summon x monster from y, negate its effects", have this negation "follow" that monster to the graveyard, or wherever else it may end up? And if so, when does this negation end? I am fairly certain that Book of Moon/Interdimensional Matter Transporter reset these types of negations, so I would assume (and have assumed) that the negation ends when the monster leaves the field. Now, I was also told that the rules may have changed due to Effect Veiler "following" its target to the graveyard and continuing to negate that monsters effects until the end of the turn (and this end of the turn thing causes a whole host of other problems), but I'm unsure.

Thanks in advance, Joel.

Hello Joel!

This is a concept that a lot of people don't get right away.

When a monster on the field has its effects negated, only its on-field effects are negated. Lonefire Blossom's Special Summon effect activates when it's on the field. Even if you tribute the Lonefire Blossom itself, it was still being negated when you activated the effect. When Lonefire Blossom resolves, you won't Special Summon a Plant. The Deep Sweeper you mentioned works the same way. Deep Sweeper has to be on the field to activate, so if its effect is negated because of Superancient Deepsea King Coelacanth, Deep Sweeper's effect won't destroy a spell or trap because its effect's negated.

In the case of Dandylion, Tuningware, and Oyster Meister, those effects activate in the graveyard. When a monster leaves one zone and goes to another, it stops being affected by whatever was affecting it previously. That's why these cards can properly resolve. On-field effect negation generally won't follow a monster to the graveyard, but there are some odd exceptions like Armed Sea Hunter and Barbaroid, the Ultimate Battle Machine. A monster going face-down makes the game forget almost everything about that monster: previously resolved effects, ATK and DEF buffs (and de-buffs) go away… it's almost like it's a completely different monster. Almost. There's only one exception to this, and that's Silent Psychic Wizard who, by ruling, somehow remembers the monster it banished even after the Wizard goes face-down. Silent Psychic Wizard is a big stupid face.

#####CARDID=10998#####

Last Question!

Mark Getzinger writes…

Loved your most recent article, but still trying to understand a few things. So if you don't mind my question is a ruling:

1. Turn player Normal Summons Worm Xex.

2. Opponent activates Book of Moon targeting Worm Xex.

Kagetokage is in the turn player's hand, and he intended to Special Summon it after he Normal Summoned Worm Xex. Kagetokage's text reads "When..: you can". So according to the article (or as much as I understood) "You can tell when an effect is optional if it includes the words "you can" after the colon but before the semi-colon" means that Kagetokage's effect is optional, therefore Kagetokage's effect in hand cannot be activated due to Book of Moon being chained to the Normal Summon of Worm Xex and the "last thing to happen" is Worm Xex being flipped face-down due to Book of Moon.

Is this a correct interpretation of the article? If not please help! Trying to wrap my mind around this.

PS - The community is saying that after summoning Worm Xex you would ask if the Summon is being negated, if they say no then you Special Summon Kagetokage from hand after revealing it. Something seems fishy with the way a player goes about that...

-Mark

Hello Mark! I'd be happy to clear this up!

First, I'm going to assume you're the turn player here, just to make the explanation a little easier to follow. When you attempt to Normal Summon Worm Xex, asking for a Summon negation is not only ok, but preferred. Your opponent gets the chance to negate the Summon, so asking if the Summon is successful is proper gameplay.

When Worm Xex is successfully Normal Summoned, there are two effects you want to activate: Worm Xex itself and the Kagetokage in your hand. These are each Trigger Effects, so according to the Fast Effect Timing chart, they have to be activated before the opponent gets the chance to activate anything, and more specifically, they can't activate any card effects between the two chain links. The chain is formed using the rules as described on page 44 of rulebook 8.0. The opponent can now activate Book of Moon as chain link 3 if they choose to do so.

And that's it for this week's big Court of Appeals! If you have any questions you'd like me to answer before the NA WCQ regarding card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and you question could be answered in the next Court of Appeals!

-Joe Frankino