All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Travis Oldford writes…

Hello Joe,

I'm wondering what happens if one of my face-up monsters is destroyed by card effect while I have Supply Squad on the field and Meklord Emperor Wisel in my hand.

Wisel's Special Summon is a "when... you can" effect, which usually isn't a problem since monster destruction is often the last thing on a chain. However, if Supply Squad is out, it's my understanding that Supply Squad's draw effect becomes Chain Link 1, making me lose the chance to Summon Wisel. Do I have that right?

Thanks!

Hello Travis!

Luckily for you, both effects can be activated! Here's why…

The "last thing to happen" is always one of three things:

- The resolution of the last Chain Link whose activation wasn't negated.
- The last game action that didn't use the chain. This includes Normal Summons, Special Summons like Cyber Dragon, setting a spell or trap card, declaring an attack, and so on.
- "Nothing" if the game state's open.

In your new chain after your monster's destroyed by a card effect (Dark Hole, let's say), Supply Squad is Chain Link 1, and you can make Meklord Emperor Wisel Chain Link 2 as "monster destroyed by Dark Hole" is still considered "the last thing to happen" which matches Wisel's effect activation condition.

#####CARDID= 16281#####

Nick S. writes…

I've been running into a brick wall lately with a Dark Smog ruling. Many players state that if they chain Call Of The Haunted or some other card to remove the target from the graveyard that Smog doesn't resolve. I find this troubling because of how Dark Smog is worded. I see it as even if that target is removed Dark Smog will still resolve its discard but not remove the target since it's no longer there. There are no confirmed rulings in TCG just a bunch of Forums that say otherwise. Thanks in advance.

Hello Nick!

You won't find any rulings on Dark Smog because it was printed after rulings stopped being a thing. But Dark Smog does have Problem-Solving Card Text, so we can easily see how this card is supposed to work. According to the PSCT conjunctions article on Konami's Strategy Site, the phrase "and if you do" means you do the first thing, then if you successfully did the first thing, do the second thing. Because the discard is listed first, you still discard even if the target in the graveyard can't be banished.

I can understand why there's confusion on this card, however. When it initially appeared in Photon Shockwave, the effect used "and" instead of "and if you do." The latter phrase wasn't put into use as part of PSCT until Galactic Overlord was released almost a year later. So any Secret Rare version of Dark Smog will read "and" instead of its most current text. When using older printings of cards, always treat the cards as having the most up-to-date card text which you can find in the official card database.

Anthony De Fazio writes…

Hi Joe,

I have a question pertaining to Scrap Dragon. My opponent controls two face-up Scrap Dragons. I used Number 11: Big Eye to take control of one of them and then used it to attack the other Scrap Dragon, destroying both of them. My question is whether the effect of Scrap Dragon to Special Summon a non-tuner Scrap monster from the graveyard will activate. Now I understand that the effect of the Scrap Dragon that I had taken control of won't be able to activate, but will the Scrap Dragon my opponent controlled be able to activate its effect? I don't believe that it would since the card says "destroyed by your opponent's card" rather than "destroyed by a card your opponent controls", but I'm not completely sure.

Hello Anthony!

When the two Scrap Dragons bumped heads, you controlled one of them. That's all that's needed for Scrap Dragon to activate. The latest text says "When this card is destroyed by your opponent's card (either by battle or by card effect)" and it was destroyed by a monster you controlled at the time. Scrap Dragon wouldn't activate if something really unusual happened, like a card effect switching the attack target to the player's own monster. Think Ancient Lamp shenanigans.

Mikael Cash writes…

Hey there!

I've been a reader of your Court of Appeals for a quite a while now and it's helped with a few things! My question for you today is in regards to any recursive Noble Arm card that hasn't used it's re-equip effect.

I Xyz Summon Sacred Noble Knight of King Artorigus, and one of the two Xyz Materials had Noble Arms of Destiny equipped to him, when it's Xyz Summoned can I then use Destiny's effect to equip itself, and then choose three separate Noble Arms that are in the grave? (i.e. Noble Arms - Gallatin, Noble Arms - Caliburn, Noble Arms - Excaliburn?) Alternatively, would the same thing be applicable for Ignoble Knight of High Laundsallyn? Thanks!

Hello Mikael!

Currently, all of the Noble Arms Equip Spells that have that re-equip effects activate "if" they're destroyed and sent to the graveyard. We know from our definition of if… you can… that if the activation condition happens in the middle of a resolving chain, the effect can be activated at the next available opportunity. So yes, you can activate Destiny's effect to re-equip in addition to Sacred Noble Knight of Artorigus's effect to equip three other Noble Arms from the graveyard.

David Salinas writes…

Hello Judge Joe,

I have a more normal, but equally confusing question about The Monarchs Stormforth. (Joe: Here we go…)

The PSCT confuses me. Do I need to have a monster at activation and at resolution in order to tribute a monster my opponent has? Can I activate this card if I control no monsters? Thank you for your time.

Hello David!

The Monarchs Stormforth has certainly been one of the more asked-about cards over the last few weeks. I'll go over as much as I can about it.

From my experience, Problem-Solving Card Text is only as specific as it needs to be. If the card says you need to do something, it will say so. But more importantly, what's not on the card will tell you how the card works, too. The Monarchs Stormforth doesn't say you need to control a monster. Therefore, you don't need to control a monster to activate or use the effect of The Monarchs Stormforth.

#####CARDID= 16917 #####

Owen Jones writes…

Hey Joe

I have a question that has been annoying me for years. I was playing with Jurracs against Dark Worlds: I have a set Jurrac Gallim. My opponent Summons Beiige, Vanguard of Dark World and attacks. Gallim is revealed and sent to the graveyard, but my opponent discards Snoww, Unlight of Dark World and then Special Summons it. A debate started about Gallim's effect... it ended up as the game carrying on as-is (with a pinch of salt on my tongue.)

So what I would like to know is: is the discard on Gallim an effect or a cost? Thanks for the help in advance.

Hello Owen!

Looking at the text of Jurrac Gallim, the discard comes after the colon, and there are no semi-colons. No semi-colons means there's no cost for Jurrac Gallim. Everything after the colon is an effect…

Although… I don't know why your opponent was trying to Special Summon the Snoww itself, as it doesn't Special Summon itself when discarded by an opponent's card effect… I mean, it does Special Summon, but not itself…

Alex Gravely writes…

Hello Joe, (I'm Psychic Droopy)

I think it's been a bit too long since you've had a challenge, (and I'm low on my supply of tears), so, I have a question for you!

My opponent controls a face-up 4-Starred Ladybug of Doom equipped with Axe of Fools. I have a face-up Defense Position Superheavy Samurai Big Benkei. I declare an attack on his Ladybug, and in response, he activates Equip Shot, targeting his Axe and my Benkei. How will the damage be calculated, if at all?

I promise, I don't hate you!

Oh, I was scared this was going to be a difficult question…

Equip Shot: "Select 1 Equip Card equipped to a face-up Attack Position monster you control, and select 1 face-up Attack Position monster your opponent controls."

"I have a face-up Defense Position Superheavy Samurai Big Benkei."

Boom. Roasted.

Last question!

Loukas Peterson writes…

Sweet, Beautiful Joseph (Joe: …)

So I bought my Satellarknight deck finally, but was really upset when I read some of their effects! Major frowny face. So I had an idea. I know that Satellarknight Altair has an effect that prevents you from using multiple in a turn, but... that's more or less a suggestion. I bought six Altairs and crossed out the "ir" in the name so it's just Satellarknight Alta (GENIUS, RIGHT?) I also drew funny hats on them. Can I use these in a tournament so I can break the meta right then and there?

With love,

Loukas

Oh Loukas. You can't play cards differently than how they're printed. That's cheating! And no one likes Weevil Underwood.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future Court of Appeals!

Court is adjourned

-Joe Frankino