All rise!

Hello duelists, and welcome back to Court of Appeals! Every two weeks I'll answer your questions about card interactions, game mechanics and tournament policy submitted to askjudgejoe@gmail.com. I get quite a few submissions, and I most likely can't get to them all. To improve your chances of your e-mail making it to the column, please follow these ground rules...

-I will not answer new questions in the article Comments. If you have a related follow-up question to a question I answer here, you can ask it in the Comments and I will answer it in a reply.

-Please ask only one question per e-mail. Grammar and clarity helps, too.

-All answers I give are unofficial unless backed up by an official source.

-I'll be using official game terms whenever possible. If I use jargon (even jargon that is perceived to be universally accepted), I'll note that it's jargon.

-I'll note sources whenever possible.

-I'll always use the official card database as my card text reference. You can find the official card database here: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/

-I will not answer any questions about cards not released in the TCG.

Please be seated.

Rye Belando writes…

Hi Judge Joe,

I have a Question regarding Black Horn of Heaven and Thunder King Rai-Oh.

Their PSCT specifically indicates that they can only negate 1 Special Summon Monster. But the rulings that are applied in the TCG say they can negate multiple Special Summons from a Pendulum Summon. What was the cause for this ruling and why did it overrule the PSCT? ~ Regards, Rye Belando

Hello Rye!

You're not the only one that had a problem with how Black Horn of Heaven was interpreted. Basically, the consensus that judges came up with was that because the phrase "exactly one" wasn't used on Black Horn of Heaven, it could be used to negate a Pendulum Summon of multiple monsters.

Thunder King Rai-Oh had its text changed some time ago to include the word "exactly", so that never should have been an issue. But, as we see in the newly-released Astral Pack 8, Black Horn of Heaven had its text clarified so now it makes clear that it can only negate a Special Summon of a single monster, so there shouldn't be any more confusion about Black Horn of Heaven specifically.

#####CARDID=11416#####

Antonio Muniz writes…

Hey there, Judge Joe!

First, thank you for answering my question regarding Darkstorm Dragon a few weeks ago. I'm glad you found it interesting. This time I've found a very strange interaction between some newer cards and I'd like to know what the outcome would be.

Suppose I control Toon Kingdom and a face-up Beaver Warrior. My opponent controls a face-up Cir, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss. I activate Comic Hand, targeting my opponent's Cir and I take control of it.

Since Comic Hand makes it so that Cir is treated as a Toon monster, it can be protected from destruction by Toon Kingdom's effect, banishing one card from the top of my deck each time it would be destroyed.

The problem is: Cir's self-destruction effect is Continuous, if I'm not Mistaken. How would their effects interact here? Would Cir stay on the field stably at some point? Or would I have the option to banish my entire deck using Toon Kingdom's effect after Comic Hand resolves? Thanks a lot!

Hello Antonio!

This is another interesting question! If this was presented to me at a tournament, I'd say that Cir would try to repeatedly destroy itself, and you'd be able to use Toon Kingdom to repeatedly save it until you either chose not to protect it anymore, or you ran out of cards from your deck and would be forced to destroy Cir.

What you'd do with a whole bunch of face-down banished cards is very limited, but I'm sure you've already thought of the possible benefits to banishing your entire deck face-down in one go.

Jeremy Adkins writes…

So, say I Summon Uniflora, Mystical Beast of the Forest and two other Level 2 or lower monsters with Obedience Schooled. It negates their effects, but doesn't say "on the field," so I'm assuming it would negate Uniflora's Summoning effect if I try to Tribute it for its ability?

Hello Jeremy!

You have it right, but I'm going to clarify why the Special Summon effect doesn't resolve: if Obedience Schooled said "negate their effects while they are face-up on the field", you could tribute off Uniflora and actually get a Summon out of it. Obedience School says "their effects are negated" which implies "on the field," but either way, the Tribute effect activates on the field while it was negated, so the effect won't resolve properly.

Chris Aday writes…

Hi Judge Joe! How're you? (Joe: Super-duper, Chris! Thanks for asking!)

Player A activates Instant Fusion, paying their 1000 LP. Player B has no response. Instant Fusion resolves and Special Summons Elder Entity Norden. Player A activates Norden's effect and targets Performage Damage Juggler in their graveyard. Player B responds by activating Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit from their hand to destroy Elder Entity Norden. The question here is does Norden still bring out the monster even though it was removed from the field via Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit? Thanks!

Hello Chris!

Two main things to take note in this situation: Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit doesn't negate activations or effects, and Elder Entity Norden doesn't say it needs to be face-up on the field to activate and resolve its effect. Knowing both of those, Norden's effect will resolve properly even though Norden's been removed from the field.

Take note that this is only the case for monster effects when dealing with Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit. Game rules work a little bit differently with Spells and Traps that stay on the field in order to have their effects apply. Continuous Spells and Traps, along with Equip, Field and Pendulum Spells have to stay on the in order for their effects to resolve.

#####CARDID= 18203 #####

Owen Jones writes…

Hey Joe,

Here I am for the third time, but this time I have a theoretical question. Say player A has Evilswarm Exciton Knight and a set Balance of Judgement. Player B has three back row, two monsters and two cards in hand. Player A activates Balance and chains Exciton with no resistance. What would happen, would they draw the extra cards or none at all? Thanks again ~ Owen

Hello Owen!

By my count, player A's "Exciton count" is two while player B's count is seven (five for Balance of Judgment purposes). The chain is built as: Chain Link 1 Balance of Judgment, and Chain Link 2 Evilswarm Exciton Knight. The chain resolves backwards: Exciton resolves, destroying everything on the field except itself, then Balance of Judgment resolves: Player B's card count for Balance of Judgment is now zero (they control no cards because of Exciton Knight) while player A controls an Evilswarm Exciton Knight. Player B no longer has a surplus, so no cards are drawn.

Tyler Wilson writes…

I had a recent problem with a ruling concerning PSY-Framegear Gamma. I had an opponent claim that Gamma could negate the activation of Kozmo Farmgirl's search effect. From my understanding, Farmgirl's effect to pay 500 LP and search a Kozmo card activates and resolves in the Damage Step. My opponent claimed that Gamma was able to do this since it negates the activation.

I don't believe that he can since the card's Summon, negation, and destruction effects all happen at the same time, and you can't Summon monsters in the Damage Step. Can you verify how this card is supposed to work?

Hello Tyler!

Well, that's certainly an interesting question.

As you've pointed out, Gamma Special Summons monsters, which historically you can't do in the Damage Step (unless it has to happen in the Damage Step, see Mystic Tomato). But this card also negates an effect activation, which historically, you can do in the Damage Step. So which one wins out?

I can't say 100% at this time, sadly. I e-mailed rules and hopefully they have an answer before this goes up. If you're looking for an interim answer, the card doesn't say it can't activate in the Damage Step, so I'd say it can negate Kozmo Farmgirl's search effect. However, ask your Head Judge before the event to confirm how they're going to interpret this. I can see judges learning either way, and without an official source, it's going to come down to the Head Judge's interpretation of rules.

Zane writes…

Hi, Joe. This is Zane. Thanks for fighting the good fight against confusing card interactions everywhere.

At my locals last week, I got a question about how the PSY-Frame hand trap monsters and Juragedo interact with cards like Skill Drain and Lose 1 Turn. We all agreed that the Special Summoning aspect of the effect would resolve, no problem, but after that things got pretty fuzzy. In both cases, the monsters are now on the field and Special Summoned, so would the effects immediately disappear? Or since it's all simultaneous would the floodgates not be involved?

Hello Zane!

The PSY-Framegear monsters' effects are all one single effect activation and resolution. Even though the monsters are on the field at resolution, you can't negate an effect part-way; either the entire thing's negated, or the entire thing resolves. In this case, the monster started in the hand, therefore the effect is completely out of the way of Skill Drain and Lose 1 Turn. You'll get the entire effect, the Special Summons and the extra effect. The whole nine yards.

Chris S. writes…

Hi Joe,

I had this question come up at a Regional involving the new PSY-frame cards. Player A had just used two PSY-Frame effects to negate a spell and trap from Player B, allowing them to Summon both PSY-Frame Drivers and two copies of PSY-Framegear Alpha. (Joe: I'm going to assume the monsters are actually PSY-Framegear Delta and PSY-Framegear Epsilon as those are the monsters that negate Spells and Traps, respectively.)

After the Special Summons were completed, my opponent used the Field Spell, PSY-Frame Circuit, to Synchro Summon, and then again immediately after completing the first one. (Joe: Might have to correct that. Read on.)

Our disagreement came with my activating Black Horn of Heaven on the second Synchro Summon. His argument was that it was the Spell Card resolving to make the Summon, which means Black Horn of Heaven can't be activated. I argued that the spell has the same text as a Yang Zing monster such as Bi'an, Earth of the Yang Zing, which allows a Synchro when the effect resolves and those can be negated by cards like Black Horn of Heaven. We had two more judges try to agree with player A, even after I called for an appeal. How does this work out?

Hello Chris!

Well, this is certainly a complicated situation, but easily sorted. First, I have to correct a minor thing about how PSY-Frame Circuit works here. Circuit says "if… monster(s) are Summoned… you can…" which means that even if a Summon happens in the middle of a resolving chain, you can use Circuit to make a Synchro Summon afterwards.

Now here's the kicker: because we Special Summoned in two separate instances, we can activate Circuit twice. This will be a single chain with two chain links. When the chain resolves, you'll Synchro Summon once, then Synchro Summon again. Only the last Synchro Summon can be negated with a card effect since cards and effects can't be activated in the middle of a resolving chain.

#####CARDID= 19006 #####

Last question!

JayJay writes…

I had a question regarding the new PSY-Frames. I've been told that you can chain multiple PSY-Frame hand effects in the same chain and still get the Special Summons. Like, for an El Shaddoll Construct you chain one to the Summon and another to Construct's effect. How would the chain be constructed (Joe: ayyyyyyy) if that's legal? Thank you for your time.

Hello JayJay!

Unfortunately that doesn't work, and here's why: Fast Effect Timing rules dictate when you can activate an effect on the chain in response to an action. When El Shaddoll Construct is Fusion Summoned, trigger effects have to be activated before effects that aren't trigger effects. In this case, Construct's own effect is a trigger effect that activates after its own Summon, so that has to be Chain Link 1 assuming the player wants to use the ability. At that point, you now have the chance to respond. As Chain Link 2, you can activate PSY-Framegear Alpha since a Special Summon happened, or you can activate PSY-Framegear Gamma since a monster effect was activated.

However, if you choose to use Alpha first, you can't use Gamma as chain link 3 since Gamma has to negate the monster effect activation which can only be done directly after the effect you want to negate. And if you use Gamma first, you can't activate Alpha because Trigger effects are chain link 1 and we're past the point of activating Trigger Effects. Putting it another way, because of Spell Speeds, you can't chain a Trigger effect to a Quick Effect. So you can only activate one of your PSY-Framegear monsters in this case.

And that's it for this week's Court of Appeals! If you have a question about PSY-Frames (and who doesn't, really?), card interactions, game mechanics or tournament policy, send me an e-mail (one question per e-mail please!) to askjudgejoe@gmail.com and your question could be answered in a future edition of Court of Appeals!

-Joe Frankino


Joe is a Yu-Gi-Oh! judge and player from Long Island, New York. Joe went to New York Comic Con for only one day. Joe is a filthy casual of geekdom.